Running in Neutral

So last weekend I got my first taste of trail running.  I went with a friend and we ran one of his favorite trails.  It was great! Scenery was beautiful, pace was comfortable, and weather was cool and damp (which made for some very muddy and wet shoes).  So since I am very interested in doing more trail runs (and a 50K) I figured I should get the right equipment (plus I love any excuse to buy new shoes).  So I went to the local running store, Inside Track. I tried on a couple of trail shoes and was really interested in the Salomons.  But they had two versions, a stability or a neutral.

I have always run in a stability shoe since I was first fitted 5 years ago. I figured that now might be the time to try something new.  I am not an expert on shoes (yet).  I generally can run in whatever I have with no problems.  One of the things I do when I run is heal strike really bad.  I can wear through a pair of shoes in less than 200 miles just because heal strike! I could feel the difference in the two shoes immediately.  The stability shoe felt much stiffer and the neutral shoe was much more flexible.  I wanted to get a shoes that does less work for me so I can get stronger as a runner.  So I got the neutral version of the shoes and took them out for their inaugural run today.

The run was delightful!  Much harder than last weekend.  There wasn’t a flat part in it!  We were either running up or down!  So far I am very happy with the shoes.  I will do a full review after I get a few more run in them.  I think when I replace my regular running shoes (soon) I will try to switch it up and go for a little less shoe as well.

Photos by Quadrathon. (Feet on left, Quadrathon.  Feet on right, mine)

3 comments

  1. Hey Great Blog this time. I am still new to this running stuff and spent almost 6 weeks injured and 6 weeks trying to run again. I got out of my stability shoes after more conversations with my buddy Stef (silver Wolf) And I went to a neutrual Mizuno shoe 3ish weeks ago. Guess what I can run agian. I am no longer having patella tracking issues. Combination of shoes, chrio and PT appointments fixed my main issues but I was still struggling until I went to a more minimal shoe. I have also been working on turn over, shorter stride and trying not to heal strike. I am only 5’6″ on a tall day but I am 210-212 lbs that is a lot of weight hammering down on these wee little legs… Trail looks AWESOME by the way. Wish we had something like that around here. Chris_Spanky

    1. So glad to hear the new shoes worked better! I am very lucky not to have any injury issues but I think if I can get a little stronger in my feet and calves and get off my heels I could gain some more speed!.

  2. Yeah I was thinking of getting a more minimal shoe next time as well, but don’t want to change too much too soon. I need to get used to running properly injury free first for a while, then I might try to change.

Leave a Reply

