Training (AKA, Self Medication)

Quite often I find that people don’t understand why I train the way I do.  They don’t understand the appeal of getting up at 4:30 AM to run, or spending 4 hours of a Saturday running and biking.  But for me this is my drug of choice.  Triathlon training is my way of  self medicating.  It is my happy pill.

Life can be hard.  Work and family can wear on everybody at some point.  And what makes me feel better, and more even, is to have a very consistent training regimen.  I do 6-7 days a week.  And if I can’t get it all in, it can make me moody and irritable.  I’m glad that it is exercise that keeps me happy because the side effects of it can be great!

This post was inspired by reading a post from The Una Runner.  I really connected with what he wrote.

3 comments

  1. I was one of those people who “didn’t get it” a long time ago. I never ever thought I’d be a runner or enjoy it. Something kicked in and…….it made sense. I think in a very real sense, the endorphin rush can be addicting. But I also think it’s something our bodies are made to be addicted to, so it’s not a bad thing. 🙂

  2. I totally agree with you. Training keeps me motivated, focused and relaxed. It’s a passion, not an addiction.

Leave a Reply

