Operation “Get It Done”

For the last 7 months I have been focusing on triathlon but now that my two 70.3 races are done it is time to switch to marathon mode.  I am training for the Portland Marathon on October 9.  I did this race last year and loved it.  I had set out to run 4:30 and was thrilled to run 4:21. The course was fun even though it rained from start to finish.  I have been running faster since last year so this year I am shooting for sub 4, hopefully 3:50 but  my ultimate goal is under 3:40 (Boston qualifying time).

Today was my first 20 mile run.  The plan I am using is much harder that what I have done in the past so the mileage jumps up pretty quickly.  I haven’t run this far in a very long time.  I really wanted to prove to myself that I could do this run; do it well; and feel good after.  I needed a running confidence boost.  So the mission was “Get It Done”.  I named my new playlist on my iPod “Get It Done” and started out a little before 6 this morning to get it done.

The run went great! I did an out and back run that is hillier than the race course but it has a couple places for water if I ran out.  When I hit the turn I was at and average pace of 9:16 and when I finished I was 9:08 so I negative split the run!  I was cautious to make sure I was good about water, nutrition, and electrolytes.  I got hungry towards the end (had trouble eating before I started) but I had some cut up apples (Pink Ladys, my favorite) which helped for the last couple of miles.

Overall I am really pleased! I have spent so much time on triathlon lately that it is kind of nice to try and focus on my running and just swim and bike to break up the workouts.

Click here for the Garmin details from the run. No heart rate data. Forgot the strap!

9 comments

  1. Great job on the run. That one 10 minute mile while you were climbing probably felt like forever compared to the rest of your times on there.

    Keep it up and I can see a BQ in there for you.

    BTW – Pink Lady’s are my favorite apple as well.

  2. Some say I wanna be like Mike…I’ve decided I wanna be like Becca….You amaze me…popping out 20 like I pop out 8…and your not even grouchy!!!
    you HAVE to teach me how to run and really love it. I do it as a means to the end; to get me to the finish line…but I can say I never ever love it. Not like I do riding and swimming. Maybe it’s because I don’t have a natural skill for it or it’s just harder than the other 2 disciplines…UGH I don’t know…but come Oct I enter the 1/2 marathon realm to work on my running fitness in prep for a stellar 70.3 in April and I think I may need a constant dose of Benadrly to keep the hives at bay.

    I will cheer you on to a BQ time and continue to pick my jaw up off the ground in awe of your abilities!!! I have no doubt you will reach and probablly exceed that goal…like I said before..my marathon comes at the end of an 140.6…a means to the end!! 🙂

    BTW…PINK LADIES rawck….esp w/ some almond butter ..deeee-lish

Leave a Reply

