September 2011 Training Summary

Training Summary

  • Running – 124 Miles /19:22
  • Swimming – 7 miles/5:13
  • Biking – 193 miles/13:13
  • Total Distance – 330 miles
  • Total Time : 39:49

Races

My only race for September was the Carpinteria Olympic Distance Triathlon (race report to follow).  It was cool to go back and do this race again; it was my first tri that I have done twice so far.  I only took a minute off my swim but I took over 10 minutes of my ride and 10 minutes off my run.  My time this year was almost 30 minutes faster than last year.  It is nice to see such a measurable change in my performance.  That really makes the hours of training feel even more worthwhile.  I do, however, really need to work on my transitions. I could have jumped up a few places had I been faster out of the water and on to the bike.

Notes on Month

Over all I increased my distance and time for all three disciplines.  I did my best to do the prescribed speed work for the marathon but a sore hip sidelined me a little.  This was my last month of training for the Portland Marathon coming up in 10/9/2011.  My last long run didn’t go as well as I hoped but it was good to have a bonk run before the race, and hopefully not on race day (fingers crossed).  I also got some fantastic news this month and I have been included in a new triathlon team, Team Cook Train Eat Race.  This couldn’t have come at a better time for me.  The support from the team might be what saves my ability to race next year.  I also got a new bike!  A 2011 Cannondale Slice 5.  I only took her out a couple times so far but I love riding her!

Goals for October

  • Qualify for Boston at the Portland Marathon on October 9, 2011
  • Stay healthy to finish up my running season with the 50K in November
  • Spend time on my bike
  • Enjoy my time in the pool
One comment

  1. Great Training!! I noticed the same thing about my transition times….I get in there and talk to racers and volunteers instead of being on a mission to get out…2 minutes overall is a big deal and this past weekend would’ve made the difference between top 10 vs 20th…Ahh, live and learn I guess!! Gotta buy some duct tape for the mouth!!
    Good luck in Portland!! You are gonna do great things up there!! I can’t wait to hear about it and how it feels to BQ!!!
    You crazy ass runners !! Now get out there and grab it!! 😉

Leave a Reply

