I will miss you Buster

Yesterday was a sad day. I had to put down my beautiful Chesapeake Bay Retriever, Buster Brown.  He was a great dog.  Super lovey, not too bright, and HUGE!  I was just thinking of the things about Buster I will miss and some of my funny memories of him and I felt like I need to write them out.

  • When Buster was a puppy he ate all of the food on two shelves of the pantry, including  an entire canister of sugar (he had a ring of sugar around his nose from licking it out), and 10 lbs of uncooked rice. A quick trip to the emergency vet and a lot of puking and he was all better!
  • When I was in labor with my first son Buster wouldn’t leave my side.  He was so concerned about me.  Of course it was kind of gross when he licked the amniotic fluid off my leg when my water broke!
  • He was a really big drooler and sometimes the drool would hang down for inches off his mouth.  My youngest child used to play with his giant drool.
  • He used to sleep on my side of the bed and even though I had no place to sleep (he was a really big dog), I would never kick him out of the bed. He would keep my feet warm.
  • If you played a harmonica he would howl.
  • He wouldn’t leave my side when I was home.
  • He was a water dog that didn’t swim.
  • He liked to pre-wash the dishes in the dishwasher.
  • He would lay right in front of the stove as I cooked (hoping for me to drop something).
  • He was awesome with my kids.
  • I miss the way his paws smell (yes, I know that sounds strange).

Thanks for letting me get this out…

4 comments

  1. I am so sorry to hear of your loss. My eyes filled with tears when I read what happened. Buster sounds like an amazing dog. I lost my Dalmatian 11 months ago today and not a day goes by that my heart does not go to her. Take it day by day and remember all of the beautiful days that you shared with Buster. If you need to reach out to me please feel free.

  2. Ouch Rebecca, my heart aches for you and your family. I’ve only lost one dog so far in my life, but putting Freud down was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. I understand your loss and feel for you. Best wishes as you grieve and heal.
    Patrick

Leave a Reply

