Week 6 of 20 – Ironman St. George Training

Swim : 5 miles (9000 yds) /2:53

Bike: 111 miles / 7:48

Run: 22 miles / 3:21

Total: 138 miles / 15:21

Build week three is in the books!  It was yet another week of juggling life and training.  I was very busy at work so I was unable to run at lunch so as a result I didn’t have much mileage on the bike or run during the week; but I made up for it on the weekend.  On Saturday I did a 14 mile run which started out great and ended terribly.  I started having severe pain on the outside of my knee (ITB I am guessing).  Since this week is a recovery week, I will do my best to foam roll as much as I can and sit on my lacrosse ball to open up my hips (that just sounds so wrong!).  Then on Sunday I did my longest ride to date; 81.6 miles!!!  It was a huge confidence booster.  I felt fine the whole ride (except for a few small temper tantrums in my head).  The part I am most proud of was I  did a fairly challenging climb 50 miles into my ride.

I also took some time to take care of myself this week.  I had a 90 minute massage on Tuesday which was greatly needed.  Brian of Malibu Massage worked on my legs and shoulders and really worked the kinks out.  This is something I need to be doing on a more regular basis.

This week is a recovery week so I plan on trying to just keep up the regularity of my workouts but give my body some time to recover from the last three weeks.  I am a little concerned about a possible hiccup that could be coming in my training.  I found a mass on my chest (close to my shoulder near my collar bone).  The doctor thinks it is just a fatty lump/tumor but the fact that I didn’t notice it and then all the sudden it was there and the size of a golf ball is a little off putting.  Once I get into see the surgeon I can decide if I get it out now or wait until after Ironman.  Kind of crazy!

10 comments

      1. Mr. Safety Pants, I am betting they will do that when they remove it. I just found it Thursday. If we decide not to remove it just yet I may see if they would maybe stick it with some needle to just verify. (I appreciate your concern!) Updates to follow I promise. I should have more information tomorrow afternoon…

  1. Yeah – that lump would concern me too. I have a smallish one that i am prety sure is a fatty thing but my husband has one that sounds more like yours. His doctor said the same thing as yours. I still think I woudl get a 2nd person to confirm jsut due to the size of it.

Leave a Reply

