Accept them all? And follow back too?

I have become pretty involved in a couple social media sites; specifically the Dailymile and Twitter.  As a result I am starting to get overwhelmed with all the friends/followers.  That may sound snobbish and I really don’t mean it that way.  Honestly, I don’t have as many friends or followers as most people but I am finding I am starting to get selective about who I share my information with.  Parts of my life I want to keep private and there are people in my life I need to protect so accepting every request or following back everyone just isn’t possible.  I have also been trimming my lists from time to time. I have, for sure, met some really awesome people that were total strangers before we found each other through the interwebs; and I have met a couple crazy ones as well (one of which is doing St. George with me).

So I have a couple questions…

Is this something you all do or struggle with?

Is it rude not to accept a friend request?

Is it rude not to follow back everyone who follows me on Twitter?

What are your thoughts on the matter?

15 comments

  1. 1) I go knock down my DM and twitter lists every now and again. Think it is normal when people drop off or you do not have much in common with them
    2)Does not have to be rude unless you really want it to be
    3) I do not think you have accept everyones request. some folks you just know you want to be friends with and some you do not
    4)sometimes you just know it is not right. This is supposed to be fun do ot stress too much about It

  2. I find it overwhelming sometimes too. I use DM as a place to log my miles, I find the platform for reading comments to be cumbersome with all the link backs, why can’t the comment to arrive in my in-box???? (more of a question for the makers of DM) If no one commented on my workouts I’d be okay with that, I don’t always have the time to comment on my friends’ either so I completely understand.

    I do go through and delete every now and then — especially those who haven’t recorded a workout in over a month. GONE! I do not accept every request, sometimes I think people just click on the friend request because it’s been suggested to them. THAT SAID …. I’ve met some amazing friends through DM and Twitter. A couple of them might have been in Vegas with me. 😉

    I go back and forth with having my twitter feed protected. I also don’t follow back everyone on Twitter, I will almost always follow back a fellow runner though. 🙂

  3. I think it is 100% up to you.
    it is not rude to not follow back

    On DM I have accepted everyone so far…I dont comment much though
    I have not dropped anyone on DM

    On twitter I dont follow everyone who follows me and I have blocked people…
    on blogs…if someone follows my blog I will go visit theirs for sure and I follow back most of the time but not always

    1. On DM, I pretty much accept everybody. I know I like to see what other people are doing in terms of workouts if we are doing the same race or a similar race. Gives me the confidence that I am not too far off base.

      Facebook is a tough one though. I have so many “friends” that I barely know. I tend to block the ones who have lots of status updates but I feel SO GUILTY! I probably need to go through and trim down the list a bit.

  4. oh and twitter… that one mystifies me. I don’t use it all that much as I don’t have too many friends who have adopted it as a way to communicate. If someone follows me who seems to have a common interest I will follow them back but I definitely don’t follow everyone who follows me.

  5. On Twitter I follow most people back. If they are a runner, or a triathlete, or have something to do with special needs (either they have a child with needs or work in the field) then I assume they’ll be interesting to me.

    On DM I trim my list all the time. I used to feel bad about it, but now I realize that DM is not facebook…I don’t know most of these people. I use it not only to log my workouts, but to get inspired by people, and connect. I can’t connect, on a meaningful level, with 500 strangers. On DM there are probably 10-15 people I know in real life (either friends I brought on there, or friends I’ve met…like you!). I have a “core group” of maybe 50-60 people who I really, really care about their workouts. It’s amazing how connected I can feel to strangers. But if people don’t post workouts in a long time, or they never comment on mine, ever, or I never comment on theirs, eventually they get deleted. Not because of anything personal, but because I just don’t have time for EVERYONE.

    I also limit what I share on DM and twitter. As you know, I am anonymous on there, and don’t post pix of my family.

  6. I was very reluctant to friend people on DM for the longest time. I really didn’t want so many randoms. I didn’t want too many that I wouldn’t be able to follow the people I really wanted to follow. For the longest time I left people in the cue and didn’t accept them. I felt bad not accepting them. But, didn’t want to X them out either. I’m a little better now. I read through their workouts and see if something interests me. Funny? Interesting? Motivational? Ok, friend.

    And, honestly, for me a lot is just a feeling. Sometimes, ya just “know” when someone is someone you want to “friend”…. or become friends with. I feel very fortunate that I’ve had so many of those connections, that have become IRL connections. So…. yeah, give SOME people a chance. But, as far as THAT doode? Uh, I say no. I’ve had a few of those. Noticed that he ONLY had hawt women as friends. Um, ewwwwww, gross.

    While I may have a decent amount of “friends” on DM. There is a select group I really care to follow and see how they are doing. Then another outter circle I may be a bit interested in, but, not as in caring so much. Then that outter ring of randoms. ha.

    I don’t follow everyone back on Twitter. Some who follow me I’m not sure they realize what they are getting themselves into. I suspect some unfollow me shortly after. 😉

    Please don’t unfollow / unfriend me. I’m not THAT creepy. Yet, anyway. 😉

Leave a Reply

