Don’t forget, you qualified for Boston…

This has been a really difficult two weeks.  The crash really took a lot out of me and has made it tough to train.  That, coupled with the IT band issues I was having before the crash, has made it almost three weeks since I ran last!  The run was never a concern for me when I originally started training for Ironman St. George.  Except for the fact that I swam in High School, I kind of think of myself as a runner first.  I am far behind in my running plan and I am even worried about the run (almost a 10K) I have to do next weekend at the end of my International distance tri!

I have been spending time on the elliptical so I can keep some level of fitness that is similar to running but keep from pissing off my IT band.  Saturday night I took a movie on my iPhone and went to the gym for 90 minutes on the lipty.  About half way through my workout I had an important realization…I qualified  for Boston!  There are still some days I can’t believe I did it but I DID!  I need to remember that I can run.  Maybe not as much as I would like right now, but my body knows how to run.  It can run for a long time and it can run relatively fast.  I need to remember my successes and let them reduce the anxiety I am having while I am unable to run right now.

There is no doubt in my mind that the crash has impacted my training for Ironman St. George but it will not keep me from being an Ironman by midnight on May 5th!

 

ps. There are a couple of you out there that are really helping me get through this tough spot.  You know who you are and you give me strength…thanks!

6 comments

  1. Gota find positives along the way…sounds like your really getting tested the last little while. You sound like you’ll power through. I had a few rough weeks in the summer, but two weeks before ironman I sat with a beer in my hand a looked back at all the shit, and thought wow…I am here now and ready.

    It looks like your already thinking that way which is awesome. Your a Boston Q-er. Nice! Now heal up!

  2. The mental aspect of sport is such a challenge. I’ve been having some (minor) issues myself. Since I had those two bike crashes in Nov/Dec I’m a more tentative on my bike. Afraid of going down again. And I missed quite a bit of running, myself, as a result. Always the self-confidence issues. But it always comes back, and much more quickly than you thought. I keep telling myself that.

    You are absolutely right. You are an incredible runner. I was so impressed to read your blog about your Portland marathon. Blew me away. You are only having a minor set back right now. And you will quickly get past it and be right back on track. Give it time and believe.

    I can’t wait to see you in Sonoma in July so you can tell me all about your fantastic IM race.

  3. Hang in there! I’ve met you around when you were just running your first marathon, and look at you now!!! I liked this post, keep thinking those positive thoughts!!!

Leave a Reply

