3LC.TV Ladies Sportive Training Video – Product Review

I was contacted the other day by 3LC.TV to see if I would like to try one of their training videos.  Since I have to us an indoor trainer during the week for my bike training I was very excited to be given the opportunity to add a new training video to my arsenal.  I was sent a copy of the Ladies Sportive which essentially is a work out that takes you through the different stages of a race.

It breaks down to a warm up, a SOLID 40 minutes of guided training, then a 10 minute cool down.  During the work out some of the things you are instructed to use your bike to simulate  are hill riding, covering the moves, through and off, lead out, and of course a final sprint.  All of the instruction is related to cadence and perceived effort.  I have done computrainer training which is very specific per individual and requires special testing before you can do it.  The beauty of a work out like this is it is based on cadence (which most of us already have on our bikes) and perceived effort.  There is no special equipment needed (you can watch the cyclists in the video and match their cadence if you don’t have that on you bike).  I find perceived effort is a great way to gauge your training so this works great for me!

Overall I found the work out to be very well structured and extremely effective.  Recently I have been working on my cadence so I worked really hard to match the prescribe cadence for each set and as a result I had a great workout.  Each set was long timed perfectly in my opinion.  One of the things I really enjoyed was that the video really makes you feel like you are having a training session with a coach.  There was a lot of talk about what type of race simulation we were doing and most importantly there were many reminders about proper form.  My favorite set was the “through and off” which simulated riding in a line and then taking your turn pulling like you would see in a breakaway group.  It was very challenging but fun.  At all times during the video you are shown what you are doing, how much time is left in the set, and what the next set is.

Over all it was a very good training video.  My only complaint is the lack of music.  Music is very helpful to me when I am exercising.  At the same time I am training for Ironman St. George where I am not allowed any music; so it might be in my best interest to do some work without my tunes.  One last plus was the five different stretching videos at the end.  I am notoriously bad about stretching so the fact that they are right there was really nice!  I can’t wait to try all of them!

I would recommend the video as effective cycling training video.  It is a little bit more expensive than some other products out there but it is a DVD (nice quality) and it has the stretching included.  It definitely was effective for me; see the graph of my HR and cadence below…

3 comments

  1. Excellent! Really pleased you enjoyed it and hope it helps you in your quest for victory in Ironman St.George!!!

    Just a note on the music. This was a tough call. What we had found with many other training videos is that the music becomes very repetitive when you’re using the session over and over so we opted to leave that out. We have been putting our own music on in the background and that seems to work fine. Who are we to decide what other people’s music choice is!

    Anyway, thank you so much for the review and good luck! See you on twitter 🙂

    Best Wishes

    Dave
    3LC Director

Leave a Reply

