Week 17 of 20 – Ironman St. George Training

Swim : 2 miles / 0:57

Bike: 82 miles / 5:49

Run: 23 mile /4:28

Total: 107/12:49

This should have been my last peak week and I was well on track to have a big week until the weekend came around.  I had a 16 mile run in my plan and was really hoping it wold go well.  The half marathon the week before was so-s0 and I really needed to have a good run for my on peace of mind.  Well, despite my best effort to run/walk it I ended up pretty much walking the last 3 miles.  I ended up with a very swollen knee.  It was so angry that the next day I cut my ride short and only did 70 miles.  Nothing to be gained at this point and if I blow up completely with three weeks to go that would be bad!

Emotionally and mentally I  am done with training.  I don’t want to do anything.  I want the race to be here and I will just muscle my way through it no matter how much it hurts.  I know I will finish the Ironman.  I have to believe that I will find the strength and endurance to get it done on May 5th; because based on how my body is preforming on the run it is a little scary.  I need a break.  I need a vacation.  I need a warm beach with a hammock… Soon!


8 comments

  1. sounds like it’s time for the taper to start. congrats on surviving the peak training! the hay is the barn now all you have to do is rest, recover and kick some ass! you will find a way!

  2. What you are feeling is pretty normal for ironman training. You’re doing the right thing. A few comments to help you finish St. George (this will be my third year doing the race). Make sure that you don’t push too hard at the beginning of the bike. There is actually a fairly long climb out of the swim area, be comfortable and don’t push it. Then, don’t push too hard on the first loop of the bike. If you do, the second loop will be a killer. If you try to gain an extra 20-30 minutes on the bike you could lose 1-2 hours on the run! You’re run/walk strategy is spot on. In fact, for the last two years I walked all the uphills and ran all of the downhills (essentially running a 1/2 marathon and walking a 1/2 marathon) and did the marathon in 5 hours each year. I saw others trying to run the whole time, I passed many of them the second half of the marathon. The new course will be easier, but I would lean towards taking 2 minute walking breaks at each aid station. If you do the math, it takes an extra 30-40 seconds a mile to do this. You could be saving 30-40 minutes at the end of the race. Good luck. Don’t over think this. You’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

