Week 18 and 19 of 20 – Ironman St. George Training

Life has been crazy and busy so I have two summaries in this post…

Week 18

Swim : 3 miles / 1:53

Bike: 39 miles / 3:30

Run: 2 mile / 0:20

Total: 44 / 6:48

This was week one of my taper and since I was moving into a new place I really didn’t have too much time to train.  Biggest issue was my running.  After that 16 week run the prior week, I honestly felt like not running at all before the race.  And with my amazing 2 miles of running it looks like I accomplished that.

Week 19

Swim : 4 miles / 2:00

Bike: 34 miles / 2:20

Run: 3 mile / 0:32

Total: 40 / 5:52

I continued to take my taper a little bit too seriously and didn’t work out nearly enough.  At this point I was done.  I didn’t want to train anymore; I just want race day to be here.  I did do an Ironman distance swim on Saturday and felt just fine.  I was about 10 minutes off race pace which seemed very reassuring.

So as race week is here I am just trying to keep my cool.  I have been very calm up until now, but the nerves are setting in.  The hay is in the barn.  There really isn’t anything else I can do affect the outcome on May 5th.  I know physically I have the swim and bike in the bag.  And mentally I am ready for the WHOLE day.  I will finish.  There will be tears (a lot of them and at different points during the day), but I will finish.  I have been thinking about this race for a year and training for it specifically for the last 19 weeks.  At this point all I can do is believe in my strength to get this race done; and I believe in that. (Dammit, I’m crying already!)

7 comments

  1. That photo of your long tall shadow over there…that IS how tall you stand!
    Chin up, legs long and strong.
    No apologies, no regrets.

  2. I’m so excited for you!! You’ve got this thing!!
    And, number 227 is an awesome number in my opinion…if you believe in things like that!
    Enjoy the rest of the week and the nerves that come along with it!

Leave a Reply

