Planing…It Never Ends!

I am only half way through 2012 but I am already trying to workout my race schedule for 2013.  I went to the Boston Marathon website to double check the date and I found the above page!  Pretty cool!

Anyway, scheduling races is becoming more and more complicated but for good reason. Regardless it is a challenge to do all the races you want but make sure you are properly trained and rested so you can do your best.  Case in point is where I am right now.  My big race this year was Ironman St. George.  After I completed it (by the skin of my teeth!) I have had very little energy to train and really needed some serious rest.  When I look back on things I essentially have been training for something for the last 3 years!  I have Vineman (a 70.3) in 5 weeks and I am in nowhere near the shape I hoped I would be.  When I mapped out my 2012 schedule I had hoped to try and qualify for the 70.3 championship at Vineman.  That will not be the case but I am fine with that.  My plan is to have a solid race and just enjoy the day.

So here is my plan for the rest of this year and next year at the moment:

  • Vineman 70.3 July 2012
  • RAD 10K October 2012 (I have never trained specifically for a 10K before)
  • Half Marathon December 2012 (hoping for a PR, specifics race TBD)
  • Boston Marathon April 2013 (hoping for a PR and running under 3:30)
  • Ragnar Chicago June 2013
  • Iroman Canada August 2013 (If I can get in)

There will be some shorter races thrown in to keep life interesting as well as going to some races as support crew.  I am really looking forward to the next 12+ months of racing or at least continuing to challenge myself.  Now time to work out my training plans!

One comment

  1. It’s crazy isn’t it? I already have almost all of 2013 planned out with Puerto Rico and Texas to start. Maybe Michigan Titanium or going to Augusta 70.3 and IMFL…..the back end has yet to be decided but it needs to be soon.

Leave a Reply

