Wah Wah Wah!

I have been pretty quiet lately because training wise, things haven’t been going my way.  It took me much longer to recover from the Ironman in May than I expected and I seemed to have developed a new issue.  I am having pain in my foot that is unexplained at the moment.  I had x-rays and they only showed some swelling, nothing else.  I will go to the PT next week and hopefully he can fix it.  It is keeping me from running which is unfortunate because I have a 70.3 in two weeks! And if my running isn’t a little better by Vineman I may not even do the run (possibly the whole race).  I am pretty down about this because I miss running so much and I was really looking forward to Vineman.  I want to be back where I was a year ago and it just doesn’t seem to be happening!  I am beginning to run out of ideas how to “fix” myself at this point.

My other concern at the moment is that I am gaining weight.  I have managed to put on about 7-8 pounds since pre-Ironman and I am not happy about it.  I am sure it is to be expected since I am not working out anywhere near as much as I was before, so it was bound to happen.  Since I am still kind of injured the only way I will be able to lose this weight is to clean up my diet.  I have one problem with that… I can’t stop eating Twix bars!  (actually any candy or processed sugar)  I am starting to believe that sugar is more addicting that heroin right now.  I know what I need to do to eat healthier but I find myself constantly making bad decisions.  Today the number was the highest it has been in 2 years (139.8). That has to change!

I guess if I really want to lose the weight I have to STFU and just eat right until my body heals and I can work out like I am used to. Anyway, thanks for reading my whining!

5 comments

  1. Completely get were you’re at. Last year after my Redman finish I was a wreck. Motivated & unmotivated to do anything. Diet a wreck, nagging injuries, and loss of a job. Lets just say I went through a really dark time, but have come out of it much stronger. Keep going, one step at a time. You’ll pull out of this and get right back on track!!! PROMISE!

  2. You know I am a huge believer that our diets affect everything including injuries. Once you get that squared away I bet that the foot injury starts to clear up as well.

    Let me know what I can do to help you out with anything.

  3. Oh I feel your pain….my ass grew twice as fast as the decrease in running mileage. Grrrrr…hang in there!! I’m glad to hear the x-ray was essentially negative though! Hopefully just some soft tissue kinks to work out….fingers crossed

  4. I have read that sugar is as addictive as crack! Since IM we have been going toward a plant-based diet (after watching Forks Over Knives) and my sugar cravings have slowly been going away. I’ve also managed to lose weight after IM without exercise and I feel great! I highly suggest watching this movie – it could change your life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

