Plants only for 30 days

If you follow me on twitter you may have noticed a new hashtag, #vegan720.  I have decided to try a totally vegan diet for the next 30 days.  I am not doing this because of animal rights issues or any type of personal  statement.  I am doing this for two reasons.  First, I have managed to put on about 6-10 pounds since my Ironman in May and I want to lose the weight.  I have been trying to “watch” what I eat and all I have seen is a a lot of Twix bars go into my belly and on to my hips! It just wasn’t working for me.  I am hoping that a very strict rule like “no animal products at all” will actually be easier to follow then just trying to eat healthy.

The second reason I am trying this is because of how many people have reported an increase in energy levels due to a totally plant based diet.  I am a busy person.  I am a single mother of two young boys who wants to continue to improve in endurance sports not to mention I work full time.  I need to have energy or I just can’t get everything done.

So I am 4 days in, feeling pretty good, and just hoping I get the results I am looking for.  My starting weight was 141 and I would really like to maintain 130 (although 125 would be awesome, just not sure I can easily stay there).  I will try to do some weekly updates as to how it is going but so far so good! Any advice or tips or recipes would be GREATLY appreciated!

4 comments

  1. We have the same starting weight and weight goals! Pound for pound! I call 125 my “pipe dream” and I decided I will buy white pants if I ever get there!
    I started a few weeks ago and am down a few pounds using loseit.com.
    I found it hard to lose while totally vegan, but my husband lost a lot of weight when we took animal products out of the house! Go figure. I’ve added ff dairy products and find it much easier to stay on track. I hope vegan works for you!!! Good luck, Becca!!!

  2. My advice is to always bring snacks everywhere – nuts are a life saver !!! Although I haven’t gone 100% vegan, I’ve been eating about 99% vegetarian and 90% vegan for the last 2 months. I have found that if I want to make this a lifetime change, I need to at least be able to make an exception to eat real pizza or a filet mignon on rare occasion or I don’t think I could do it! However, the most successful weight loss plans I’ve ever been on involved an all or nothing approach, I totally get why you’d do 100% vegan for one month! I can’t wait to hear how it goes for you!

    Another tip – don’t substitute meat with a lot of soy products. You can get plenty of protein from beans, whole grains and veggies. Soy has been shown to have some nasty long term health effects.

    1. I am trying not to use too many soy products in different forms. I do enjoy tofu but I am trying to eat it in moderation. The all or nothing approach is working well but no real weight loss yet. I am thinking I need to watch my gluten intake next.

Leave a Reply

