Where I Am Going Wrong

When I started the #vegan720 challenge I had essentially three goals or at least results I was hoping to attain.  I wanted to eat more whole foods/less processed food; get the natural energy boost I hear about; and loose some weight.  I have felt the natural energy boost for sure.  I no longer want to curl up under my desk after lunch and tale a nap.  I sleep well and wake up feeling great.  I am eating “better” and I have become much more food label conscious.  It takes me twice the time to grocery shop and I am constantly reading labels of everything I eat.  But I haven’t lost weight; I have actually gained a pound.  And I think the picture above explains why.  Fruits and veggies are not always the most abundant food source in my day.  I have become very dependent on grains and cereals for quick snacks and even sometimes meals (yes, cereal for diner).  I think this is why I am not realizing the weight loss I was hoping for.

So I am still sticking with the vegan eating thing but I am trying hard to eat WAY more fruits and veggies at every meal.  I am also trying to have fruit and not cereal for breakfast anymore.  A very hard habit to break!  Below is what I packed for lunch today.  A big old crunchy salad with a creamy avocado.  Not sure if I can make it until lunch time!!!

Thanks Healthy Bitch Daily for the Pyramid

2 comments

  1. That salad looks yummy! And I agree that veggies do need to be a big part of each meal. I typically have salad for lunch 3x a week and the other days I’ll have a sandwich with hummus, avocado and veggies on Ezekiel bread. For dinner, it’s about half grain and half veggie based. I make a lot of veggie curries or Indian sautees and serve them over rice w extra broccoli on the side or I’ll do whole wheat pasta mixed with a ton of veggies and also have asparagus on the side. We do eat oatmeal every morning for breakfast though (or cereal about 1x/week). The first month or so I was trying 2-3 new recipes a week but now that it’s been a few months, I’ve gotten to the point where I know what to buy. If you are reading labels at the grocery story, that means you aren’t buying whole foods! Sticking to basics like fruits, veggies, quinoa, rice, nuts and seeds will make it easier to shop since you know these are always vegan.

    If you are on pinterest, I recommend starting a vegan recipe board and working your way through that. Here’s the link to my board w/ some of my favorite recipes: http://pinterest.com/sdrunner83/vegan-recipes/

    You’ll get there! This diet isn’t always easy (i cried once at a restaurant in frustration!) but it’s worth it for your health.

Leave a Reply

