I just want to run

Could these be the solution?

As my miles start to creep up as I train for a half marathon and eventually the Boston marathon my confidence is being shaken.  I am having pain in a new place. And I don’t know what to do.  A year ago I could run all I wanted and nothing hurt. I am not sure what is triggering this.  But I have a list of possible suspects and the possible solutions.

  1. IT band again (don’t really think it is ), but the solution of stretching, foam rolling, and hip/glute strengthening exercises would help regardless.
  2. Shoe issue.   I ran for YEARS in plain old stability shoes (Asics mostly) and NEVER had a problem.  I have been trying to fix my heal striking and therefore have been running in more minimal shoes and right now I run in Newtons.  Maybe I am just such a heavy striker that I can’t make the switch.  The possible solution is different shoes and for this weekends run I am gonna bust out my moon boots (Hoka’s).  They are not the sexiest looking shoes but I don’t really care anymore.
  3. Increase in track work may be tougher on me than I thought.  I have recently started doing organized track workouts and I LOVE them!  Running with a group really pushes me to run faster than when I do them on my own.  The running on a track may be too repetitive.  Solution, mix it up with trails.  This is tough because of my schedule constraints but I just may have to make it happen.

Hopefully I can figure it out soon.  I want so badly to have a strong Boston as well as a strong Challenge Penticton next summer.  But all I really want is to run…

5 comments

  1. Hi Becca,

    Where do you hurt now? I know that when I tried to make the switch to Newton’s I had issues with extensor tendonitis in my left foot, my feet just could not make the switch to that extra platform under the midfoot. I think the Newton technology is greta, but it is not for everyone, I hope that the Hola’s help out.

    Happy training!!

    Cheers,
    Taryn

  2. Do you keep up your cross training on the bike and swimming when you train for a run race? In my last training cycle I made a point to pretend as if I was still training for a triathlon and found that the cross training really helped ward off mystery pains.
    Your shoe thing sounds like a reason too. Hope you figure it out soon!

Leave a Reply

