My First DNF – the Tour of Sufferlandria

photo 2

Around New Years we decided that it would be fun to do a fitness challenge and since both of us enjoy use the Sufferfest training videos we thought it would be fun to try and do all of them.  Yes, we thought it would be a good idea to do 10+ hours of trainer riding (WTH were we thinking?).  After the first night/3+ hours I realized just how lofty of a goal this was in actuality.

We started on Saturday night and did four videos *(mind you I ran 14 miles in the morning).  Got up Sunday morning, ate a nice breakfast then did two more videos*, took a lunch break, and very gingerly got back on the bikes*.  To say my sit-bones/butt/lady parts were hurting is an understatement.  Monday became a rest day because we had to take one.  But Tuesday morning we went back at it and managed to do three more videos* including my least favorite (because it is so hard), Local Hero.  At this point I ran out of time.  I am training for the Boston Marathon and I need to keep my eye on the prize.  I need to focus on running so I had to do the responsible thing and take a DNF for this one.

As strange as it sounds, I had a blast! It was a great way to plunge back into my bike and get me prepped for the miles I will be putting on while I train for Challenge Penticton.  I was also quite surprised at how well I did on each video.  The only one I “coasted” through was the Extra Shot (and there is no coasting on a bike trainer).  I hit some speeds on my trainer I have never hit and I found the more time I spent on the bike the better I got at keeping my cadence high.

I am glad we gave it a try and hopefully the next time I do it (yes, I will try again), I will make it through all the videos.  Back to running!

My best "Not Impressed"

My best “Not Impressed”

Day three, I am done!

Day three, I am done!

*links will take you to my Garmin data

8 comments

  1. That is such a great idea but that being said I will watch from a far since nobody here is ready, willing or able to join me in something this insane!

  2. Oh man, that sounds like a tough workout! Great job though!!! It sounds like an awesome challenge. I wish I lived near you so that next time you do this I could join you (Here, let me just invite myself. Lol.).

  3. Mario Cipollini never finished a TdF. And though many would hide their daughters when he was around, no one ever criticized him for abandoning the race (in favor of the espresso waiting for him in the team car) 5k into the first climb in the Alps or Pyrenees, because he was such a great sprinter and there was plenty of flat racing elsewhere left in the season. Your decision to DNF as a result of wanting to keep your eye on the prize was a prudent one I think.

    Local Hero is my favorite actually. 🙂 Downward Spiral too.

Leave a Reply

