Apple Pie Recipe – I <3 Pie!

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram you have prolly seen me posting pictures of my apple pies.  It is one thing I bake pretty damn well (IMHO); and from scratch no less!  One of my favorite people in the Twitter universe wanted the recipe so I thought I would bake a pie, take some pictures, and blog about it.  Now realize, I generally do not use a recipe for my pie (except for the crust). What you will read below is my best estimation of a recipe.

IMG_3738

Crust

  • 2 ½  cups flour
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1 cup of butter/2 sticks (vegan buttery sticks work just fine; the crust wont brown up as nice as crust made with butter but it still delicious)
  • ¼ to ½ cup cold water

Mix the dry ingredients in a food processor with a dough blade (I use a Cusinart).  Add the cold butter chopped into chunks to the dry ingredients.  Pulse in mixer until butter is chopped up and mixed into the flour.  Carefully add the cold water and mix until a dough ball is formed (maybe 2-3 minutes).  I usually use the whole ½ cup of water but not always.  You don’t want it to wet or it will be sticky.  Too dry and it won’t form a nice ball and will crumble.  I found that once I let my Cuisinart do most of the work it turned out pretty damn good.  Split dough and roll into two equally sized balls.  Wrap in plastic wrap and put in Fridge for about an hour.

Pie Filling

  • 8-12 Granny Smith apples (depending on size)
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • ¼ cup butter

Peel, slice, and core the apples.  I use my Cuisinart’s 2mm slicing blade to thinly slice the apples very quickly.  You can use a mandolin as well.  I think the thin sliced apples is what makes the pie so good.

Mix the sugar, cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg into the sliced apples making sure the apples are evenly coated with all the dry ingredients.

IMG_3756

Carefully massage the ball of pie crust into a circle.  Don’t force it or it will crack.  Flip if over on the cutting board so you keep floured on both sides.  Once it is about an inch think roll it out with the rolling pin carefully until it is about 1-2 inches bigger than you pie pan.  Fold crust in half and transfer to pie pan. Trim edges so they are even then fold the crust under to make a nice neat edge.

Fill the pie with the apple filling and the last couple ¼ cup of butter.

Roll out the other ball of crust.  Use a cookie cutter to cut out a cool shape.  Cover pie with pie crust cut outs.

Cover whole pie with aluminum foil.  Put in preheated oven at 375 for 45 minutes.  After 45 minutes remove foil (it keeps the crust from cooking too fast since it takes some time to cook the apples).  Put it back in the oven for 30 more minutes   Watch pie carefully to make sure the crust doesn’t burn on top.  Pie should eventually start bubbling juice.  That is a pretty good sign it is done.  That is why I always put the pie on a tray when baking.  ENJOY!!!!!

**This is my first attempt at blogging a recipe…Hope I did well!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

