Boston Marathon Week 4 of 16 Training Update

Two weeks ago I went out to do an 18 mile run in training for the Boston Marathon.  After 10 miles I was having a lot of pain in my left knee from a problem with my IT band/peroneal muscle.  I stopped after 13.1 miles (I was doing a half marathon) and my knee locked up. I decided to cut the run short and skip the last 5 miles.  I ran easy the next week and then went out to try and run 15-17 miles on Saturday.  After 7 miles my knee hurt and by 10 I could tell I was altering my gate to compensate for the pain and that was going to mess up my other side so I stopped again.

Boston has been a dream of mine for a very long time.  I have already given up on the thought of a PR at Boston this year.  All I want is to have a solid comfortable run.  At this point, I am not sure even that is possible.  If this progresses like my other IT band did last year I just don’t see how I will be able to run the marathon in April.

So here is my plan.  For the next 4 weeks I will do all the activities I know I should to try and rehab the IT band.  This includes a lot of pelvic girdle strengthening exercises, foam rolling, and stretching.  I will keep trying to run until the pain is too bad I have to stop.  If at the end of the next 4 weeks I can run 18 miles knee-pain free, I will keep training for Boston.  If I get to that point and I can’t, I think I will pull out.

I know some of you may not agree with this but here is why I might do that.  I know I will/can qualify again for Boston.  I truly believe that.  I really don’t want to spend all my time and a bunch of money going to a race that I know will be very painful and disappointing.  I really hope that in four weeks I can report that I am ready to finish the training, but for now I am not so sure…

11 comments

  1. I am so very sorry you’re not feeling well, ugh! I think you have a very wise plan and I agree, why spend all of the money if you’re only going to be suffering and could possible do more serious damage however. Sending you love! xoxo

  2. Sorry to hear your having these issues. There is nothing worse than running long distance with this type of pain. The running coach I train with works with people with these type of issues and you may want to talk with him and see if he could help. Plus he’s located in Camarillo. Check out his site: http://www.diazhumanperformance.com/

  3. I think you are being very smart about it. I fully believe that longevity in sport is possible when you LISTEN to your body and RESPECT what it is telling you. You know what you need to do and you are going to do it. I hope your body responds and you will get your opprortunity to run Boston this year and do so without further injury! Keeping my fingers crossed for you Becca, but I agree with your statement that if you are unable to do it this year, you WILL qualify again.

    1. No completely sure it isn’t my shoes but I don’t think it is. This issue has been going on for a year in several different types of shoes. I just haven’t complained that much because I don’t want to sound like a sissy!

  4. I feel your pain! I had ITBS problems in my right leg/knee for over a year, starting in 2010. Ironically, I was also training for Boston at the time. After lots of aqua jogging, foam rolling and stretching, I finally found a doctor who diagnosed the root of my problem: inhibited/weak gluteal muscles. For many, this is the root of ITBS.

    Through immediate treatment with ART (active release technique) and graston, he alleviated my symptoms. Then, we set to work on strengthening my glutes. I’ve been good to go ever since. Such a relief – which is why I’m sharing my story with you in the hopes it will help you.

    I wrote a post about it. This also includes a link to the exercises: http://www.runningalife.com/the-other-4-letter-word-itbs/

    Also – feel free to email me questions. I’m happy to help – maria@nolimitsendurance.com.

Leave a Reply

