Those pesky 5 pounds

image

Ever since I finished my Ironman almost a year ago my weight has been slowly creeping up.  For most people the 5-8 pounds I have gained doesn’t seem like a big problem but it has really started to bug me.  Even when I increase my exercise I still don’t lose any weight.  I want the magic pill that will just make it start falling off but that doesn’t exist.  So instead of a special diet I have decided to just count my calories.  I have NEVER done this before; it seemed like so much work!

Enter the iPhone… I know I am not telling you about anything revolutionary but there are some great apps out there that make calorie counting easy (and a little fun).  I downloaded myfitnesspal yesterday and I LOVE it!  The simple fact of writing everything I eat down has me planing out all my meals with much more thought (and yes, I know this isn’t a new concept either).  I was shocked to see it has me shooting for 1200 calories a day (I want to loose 1 pound a week).  That seemed really low to me but yesterday I managed to finish the day at 1251 calories (pretty close) and if all goes well I will finish under today!  Hopefully this is the accountability I needed to shed those couple of pounds. Eating has become a game that I can win just by paying attention. I think I can do that!

4 comments

  1. I love this app! I have been using it on the ipad for awhile now and it is so cool. I have been counting calories for years and this is by far the easiest and best way I have found to keep track. Also, I am with ya on the 5-8 lbs…I’ve been gaining and losing the same 8-10 lbs since I ram a half marathon in Oct. So annoying! 😉

  2. The iPhone app was a pretty awesome way of doing the diet. Really made me thing about that “little” snack when I knew it would wipe out that day’s progress. I have to lose a few myself so will be back on there as well.

Leave a Reply

