I am still alive… in case you were wondering.

finisher

It has been almost two weeks since I have decided to stop training for the Boston Marathon because of IT band issues.  As a result I haven’t had much to say.  I am still pretty bummed to have to pull out of Boston.  I worked so hard to qualify but I am not willing to spend the money and time for the race I would have at this point.  I qualified before, I will qualify again. #movingon

I am not really training for anything right now; and honestly it is kind of liberating!  My goal is to get about 6 hours of training in a week while slowly building my running miles back up.  I have been really enjoying my time in the pool and my swimming is snapping back into shape.  My next race will be an Olympic Distance up in Sonoma on June 2.  Doing this race will get me a spot in the Vineman 70.3 in 2014 and if all is going well that will be a good build up to Ironman Arizona in 2014. #fingerscrossed

The only other new news is that my diet has been successful. Almost 5 pounds in 3 weeks.  I would be lying if I said I wasn’t hungry but using myfitnesspal has me really choosing my foods carefully.  I might try to go for another 5 pounds and see how hard it is to maintain a weight of 130.

Thanks, as always, for reading.  Hopefully I will have more exciting news at some point.

8 comments

  1. Is funny how liberating just working out for you can be. Great job on the weight loss! Glad to see you back in blog land…I’ve been checking to see if there was anything new going on over here. 😉

  2. Is funny how liberating just working out for you can be. Great job on the weight loss! Glad to see you back in blog land…I’ve been checking to see if there was anything new going on over here. 😉

  3. I just read your post and the next day listened to an old podcast with Kelownagurl and Stuart’s ironman recap then the more recent podcast with Barb discussing the withdrawal from some anticipated events and the movement into others. I very much appreciate your honesty. I have just started my 1st marathon training program a couple weeks in and am having trouble with runners knee. I dumped my last 2 runs in hopes that I could do some healing and strength training to fix the imbalance with hopes to not have to abort my plans. I just wanted you to know that I connected with all you said and I feel for you. You have not fixed my problem nor can I fix yours, bit we are not alone in this. Thank you for restoring my hope.

Leave a Reply

