Monte Rio Olympic Triathlon Race Report (AKA, she is still doing stuff?)

IMG_4521

So let me catch you up a little bit on where I have been for the last couple months…

Had IT band issues and pulled out of the Boston Marathon (still feel very lucky for that)

Bought a house with my partner in all things, Quadrathon

Bought a mountain bike and started hitting the trails

Finally got some motivation back to get my a$$ in shape

Then all of the sudden we realized we had a race coming up

that we had signed up for months ago.  Neither of us were very well prepared but for some reason I was pretty excited to do an Olympic distance tri.  After spending the last couple years doing longer distance events, an Olympic sounded perfect!

This race was a new race in the Vineman series and was up in Sonoma on the Russian River.  If you have never been there I HIGHLY recommend it.  Great place to race and visit!  Back to the race.  We drove up on Friday but got to the hotel late because we stopped and visited with some Facebook/Twitter friends on the way up (so glad we stopped!).  Saturday was spent working in the morning (things have been very busy at work lately) and then we made are way out to the course to check in and drive the ride and run.   After all recon was done we headed back to the hotel for some rest, dinner, and packing.

Race morning came early (I kind of remembered one of the reasons I wasn’t doing this much anymore) but we got up and out and to the swim start.  We had bought the VIP entries so we had great parking (and guaranteed entry in to the Vineman 70.3 next summer).  We didn’t have a ton of time to goof off so we set up and got to the swim start.  Stuart started one wave ahead of me so the plan was that I would pass him on the swim (my strength but not his), he would catch me on the bike, and then we could race together after that.

Wow it has been a long time!

Wow it has been a long time!

Swim started and I was off!  I swam hard and had a good swim.  I saw Stuart as I passed him but just kept going hard.  The water was pretty shallow and there was a lot of walking by some of the racers but I stayed in the water the whole time.

I got out of the water and walked up to transition.  The distance to transition was really far and the path was very rocky so I took my time.  My new wetsuit came off sooooo much faster than my last suit and I was on my bike in no time.  I have NOT spent anytime on my Tri bike in the last couple months so I wasn’t really sure how it would go.  Luckily the mountain biking was paying off.  I was still getting passed a lot (something I am used to) but I felt good and by the end of the ride I was passing people!  I kept waiting for Stuart to catch me but I didn’t see him until I was a couple miles on the way back from Jenner.  At this point I started to get excited that I might be having a decent race.  I love you Stuart but now it is every racer for themselves.  If you want me you better come get me!

I got into transition and thought I had ridden a 1:20 (about 10 minutes faster than I had hoped I could ride it).  I was thrilled!  I got out of transition  ASAP and got on the run.  This was my chance to finally use my super awesome Garmin 910 XT and all of it’s cool features like multi sport with transitions.  It seemed like it was working fine but when I looked to see my running pace there was no distance.  Later I will find out that when I transitioned I actually was transported all the way to the coast of Africa! (known bug in the 910 after using multi sport with and open water swim)

Anyway, the run was really flat and very shaded; it was perfect!  I did my best to run hard but stay in a comfortable place.  I used the mile markers and the elapsed time to monitor my pace.  I want to run a 9:00 mile pace and I was doing that for the whole run.  I finally saw Stuart again a mile after the run turn around.  He looked great and told me to keep hauling. I just kept moving and tried to pick it up for the last 2 miles (Wish I knew my splits but since I was running in  Africa it was hard to tell!

I made it into the shoot and finished strong.  I was thrilled.  I had no really idea of my time but I felt great about how I had completed each leg feeling strong!  I would have been happy with something between 3:00 and 3:30 so when I saw I did 2:54 I was thrilled and I was even more thrilled with 9/34 for my AG.

Here are the details and data

Swim 28:51 (4/34)

Bike 1:23:49 (11/34)

Run 54:57 (8/34) (note location on map…)

Overall 2:54:25

On our way back down we met up with a couple more Twitter/Facebook/Dailymile friends (so glad we made time to do this!)

I had a great race and two days later I signed up for another Olympic distance here in Ventura.  I race again in two more weeks!

Done, happy, and waiting for my better half!

Done, happy, and waiting for my better half!

Woot!!!

Woot!!!

We both survived!

We both survived!

So life is busy but good.  I have never been happier and I promise to try and get back to this blog a little more frequently.

2 comments

  1. You are strong and fast. Going with your gut feelings about focus in life and races did your body good. You didnt force yourself to do something that, at your core, you didn’t feel right about. That takes a lot of strength.
    And, IMHO, “if you want me you better come get me” is a good motto for all parties involved. 🙂

  2. Great report! So nice to see you so happy after the training/injury troubles earlier this year.
    I’ll be looking for some inspiration/training tips as I continue with my triathlon training next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

