A bike in your garage is worth two in the bike shop.

Around  a year ago I sold my first bike.  It wasn’t a super awesome bike.  It was an entry level Scott Speedster but it was a decent road bike.  It served me well in my first two 70.3s.  When I sold it,  I was only riding my Tri Bike at the time and I needed the money.  So I sold it on Craig’s list for around $500.

This picture doesn't do the course justice. It was so beautiful!

This picture doesn’t do the course justice. It was so beautiful!

Now I finally want a road bike again and getting a new one just isn’t in the cards.  Luckily I am pretty happy on  my Tri Bike and have no problems spending hours and hours on it so I will make do with what I have.  Now, I don’t want to suggest that you should hoard bikes and equipment but if you are in the same boat I was in, think twice before you sell your extra stuff.  You just may find you really wish you had it some day in the not to distant future…

3 comments

  1. I agree. I’ve kept my original road bike for that reason. Granted, it’s not a SUPER fancy bike. It’s a pretty heavy bike too. It’s not carbon, and it doesn’t even have clip in pedals, but it does the job. 🙂

  2. agree….I kept my road bike (Cervelo) and actually ride it during all my rides during the week….Only get on my Quintina Roo TT bike for the long weekend rides…LOVE having 2 and LOVE them both!! 🙂

  3. Rule #12
    The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.
    While the minimum number of bikes one should own is three, the correct number is n+1, where n is the number of bikes currently owned. This equation may also be re-written as s-1, where s is the number of bikes owned that would result in separation from your partner.

Leave a Reply

