911 on your cell phone works

photo

My worst nightmare happened on Sunday.  I watched my fiance crash his bike right in front of me.  It was the last mile of a very hilly 45 miles.  We just got back into town when he hit a pothole while doing 25 MPH in the aero position. He couldn’t control the bike and essentially went over his handle bars and slid nose first on the pavement. Scary is an understatement.  Luckily I was a few bike lengths behind him and to the right so I missed hitting him as well.  I jumped off my bike and ran to him.  Once it was clear he was conscious and knew what was going on I decided to call 911.  I have NEVER called 911 before.  I pulled out my cell phone and called.  Told them what had happened and we had a fire truck on the scene in less than 10 minutes. You can read about his account here and see more graphic pictures if you are interested (don’t worry, you have to click thru to see them).

5 comments

Leave a Reply

