I got a coach!

I wrestled with this long and hard. I had many people in my circles offer up themselves as a coach or some they knew of.  Ultimately I came to the decision to work with an amazing lady, Jen, that I have been in contact with for almost 3 years thru the interwebs.

I really want to have a good race in Arizona and at all the races I have lined up along the way.  The moment I decided to use Jen I felt and amazing amount of weight lift off my shoulders.  I don’t have to figure out how to train for the next 11 months…I just have to do the training!  No more second guessing my plan or worry that I have over/under trained.

One of the deciding factors for me was the fact that Jen has raced both of my A races, Vineman 70.3 and Ironman Arizona.  Not to mention she is a bad ass and one of my fellow Vanderkitten VIPs! I have made some changes to my commitments so I can afford a coach (guess who gets to start cleaning her own pool) but I am sure it is worth it!

I am super excited to turn myslef over to someone and see just what I am capable of.

3 comments

  1. Getting a coach was one of the best decisions I ever made. Unfortunately, when I lost my job & got a new one, I could no longer afford him. 😦 It’s going to be interesting training myself for my upcoming 70.3. Congrats on the coach!

  2. Agreed, one of the best decisions I ever made! And while my times have not been exactly what I hoped, I have learned that progression in this sport is linear and it takes YEARS and YEARS of consistency…esp the longer distances. In order to really flourish the key is being able to nail workouts every day and remain injury free over the long laul. My coach has been instrumental in that. I’m looking forward to my late (Nov) 70.3 and finally IMTX in 2015 to really see the true benefits. Patience is of the utmost importance!!!
    Ohhhh, make the kids clean the pool!! Chores!!!
    Enjoy the coach, and just remember…..you asked for this!! 😉

Leave a Reply

