17 Weeks and Counting

IMG_3925It starts tomorrow.  17 weeks of Ironman specific training. I am pretty sure (notice I am leaving the door open) that this will be my last 140.6 distance race for a long time (door still open). The volume of training required does not equal the amount of time I have to devote to training so this is not something I can’t keep up much longer.  It is a funny situation; I don’t want to keep doing these races because I don’t have the time to commit to the training to get better. I know many people are happy just to train an complete but I would really like to get better. Maybe once my kids are older and I get more flexibility in my work situation I can sustain this level of training; but for my situation it just isn’t feasible to do this every year.  I have all the support in the world from my husband for which I am super grateful.  But it is just too much to do this year after year.

My plan is to do a weekly re-cap of my training including video like I did when I trained for Ironman St. George in 2012. I am so happy with my decision to have a coach for this race.  We have been working together since February and we have built things up nicely.  I am going into this confident that she will get me to the start line healthy and ready to give it all I can. My biggest enemy in this is myself and mornings.  I used to love to get up early and train but that has become more and more difficult.  I can’t afford to sleep in because there is no way I will be able to sustain the training volume if I don’t get some stuff done before work.

So here we go!  I hope you follow along for the ride and see what I can make of Ironman Arizona 2014!

4 comments

  1. I will be following this process now that I have decided to pursue this goal myself. You will do awesome!!

  2. I’m feeling the same way about Ironman. I enjoy the experience and the race itself, but the training is all consuming and I feel I don’t have time left for other things that I am pursuing as well as family. Next year will be trail races & a couple 70.3s. Good luck with the rest of your journey!

  3. It’s why I decided against IMTX and for now, the focus is mastering 70.3 and under. Until the nest is empty at least! I’ll live through you this training cycle!! Getty Up!!

Leave a Reply

