Ironman Training Tips

As I get started on this journey to 140.6 I am trying to practice a few things so I don’t make this experience any harder than it has to be.

  1. KISS – Keep It Simple Stupid. Don’t make things more complicated then they have to be. One place I plan to do this is on my long rides. I love where I live but the problem is I am surrounded by hills and the course in Arizona will be very flat. Usually we drive to the beach and ride up and down PCH for long flat miles. I don’t want to spend the extra time driving to ride so I will be looking for new routes to use for my long rides that don’t require driving to.
  2. Plan Ahead – Plan anything you can ahead of time. Make a meal plan for the week. Plan your workouts with your partner. I am very lucky because Stuart is essentially planning around my schedule, but we sit down on Sunday nights and make a plan for the week that includes dinners and workouts.
  3. Prep for the next day – I try to prep as much as I can for the following day before I go to bed. That includes making lunch, setting out workout clothes, packing the car, pumping up the bike tires, etc…
  4. Go to bed on time – I am working very hard to be in bed by 10:00 PM every night. The problem is when the kids don’t go to bed until 9:00 that doesn’t leave much time for Stuart and I to hang out. Often, we will end up at the kitchen table chatting until 10:30. I am doing my best to go up the wooden path to Bedfordshire by 9:30 so I can be in bed no later than 10:00.
  5. Plan meals better – I am not doing great on this one but I am working on it. Specifically, make sure I have a good snack for my drive home so I can get my evening workouts in and eat dinner after. Also, make sure I have a good breakfast planned. Lately I have been making a quick egg white breakfast sandwich that I can eat on the drive to work.
  6. Drink more water – I am really bad about this and it is something I need to do everyday, all day long.
  7. Don’t beat myself up over missed workouts – I am only one person. I only have so much time. This training will not last forever so allow myself to skip if I need to. Some days, other things are a priority over Ironman training. Until this becomes my job (which it never will) I have to keep that in mind. I can’t spend the next 16 weeks miserable so if I just can’t squeeze something in, get over it and move on.
  8. Something is better than nothing – I find this is a hard one to swallow sometimes. Almost all of my workouts are 1 hour +. Sometimes I just run out of time. I have to remember it is better to do all I can than to do nothing at all.
  9. Thank everyone – I couldn’t do this without the support of my husband, kids, and family. I need to remember to thank them for allowing me to do this.  It requires a TON of time and they all have to make sacrifices so I can train.
4 comments

  1. I don’t Know if your coach gives you weekly goals, but mine always sets 3 for me. One which details my key workouts for the seven days (usually Tues, Sat and another random day)….that helps me A LOT in the event I need to rearrange, shorten, alter or skip all together. I know which days to 100% def. not skimp on. Any other time, I modify the warm up/cool down and try to keep the main sets as written. Its helped tremendously with keeping up the consistency when time gets crunched!!

Leave a Reply

