Ironman Arizona Week 4 of 17 – Almost back to where I was

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 8.44.48 AMThe week is getting away from me so I better do this before the week is over!  I felt much better this week. Not 100% pre-crash feeling but I would say 80% My biggest complaint is my swimming. My shoulder hurts from the crash when I swim and I feel like I have lost a ton of swimming endurance. I am not going to rush this one because I know the swim is not my issue, it is actually my strength.

The ride is really my weakness. The most noteworthy part of my week was getting back on the tri-bike OUTSIDE! Sunday I went out for a 3 hour ride. To make it more interesting I took a totally different route. I am not gonna lie and tell you it was amazing to be back on my bike. I have grown to realize, I don’t really like cycling all that much. The hassle, the money, and  the opportunity for great bodily harm has worn out my love of the bike (at the moment). Maybe my feelings will change, but for now I am just not digging it. That being said, I only have 12 more weeks of it and then I can take a nice long break and get back on the trails for running and Ultras. So ride on I must!

As the race gets closer I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. There is still a big part of me that is excited for the race and actually I am most excited to do this for Stuart (my husband). He has bent over backwards all year to help me train for this race and I don’t want to let him down. As much as I want to just walk away and be done right now, that isn’t an option.

This week I am working on adding a little more intensity to my workouts and trying to up the overall effort. Hopefully I can get some of my speed and endurance back soon!

Sorry no video this week 😦

One comment

  1. Your feelings about cycling are pretty close to mine. As I ramp up in triathlon training, I plan to do a lot of trainer rides.

    I look forward to continuing following your journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

