Week 5 of 17 Ironman Arizona Training – Biggest week so far!

Screen Shot 2014-08-26 at 9.12.54 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-26 at 9.16.22 PM

Now we are talking! What a great week of training. I did EVERY workout, on the correct day!!! That is huge for me. Now, I did mess up one run, poop out on my long run, and ran extra on my brick run (just had to prove to myself I could run after the bike), but other than that I think I had a pretty stellar week.

This was my biggest training week so far and besides being extremely hungry the Monday after, I felt pretty darn good! Most significant thing is that swimming is almost 100% pain free. I lost a lot of speed and endurance in the water but it is coming back.

I also manged a decent brick on Sunday, 4 hours on my bike followed by a 50 minute run. The key for my Sunday workouts are to get out of bed and get it done ASAP. This means before I go to bed on Saturday night I make sure to have everything prepped for the ride in the morning. Tires pumped, nutrition ready, bottles out, kit and shoes ready…EVERYTHING! That way all I have to do is get up, eat, get dressed and go. It made a huge difference to be on the road just after 7:00AM because I knew when I got back I would still have some Sunday to enjoy!

So that is my goal for this week; plan ahead! The more I can set myself up for success, the easier this will be. That includes getting lunches for kids packed before bed an even picking out my clothes for the next day. The more I can plan for, the more time I will have to train. This week my life gets much more complicated because my kids go back to school. If you don’t know this about me, between Stuart and I we have 4 boys ages 6-12. That means we have to run a pretty tight ship. The more we can plan, the better things go. I couldn’t do this without Stuart. He takes care of so many details for me so I can train. I am so lucky!

One comment

Leave a Reply

