Week 6 of 17 Ironman Arizona Training – Let the chaos begin!

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 7.45.04 PM

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 7.30.47 PM

This was my first week training AND the kids all went back to school as well.  For some people this is a wonderful thing. Not so much in my world. I have kids that are not the most enthusiastic about school. It takes a lot of work to keep them on track. Coupled with the fact that they split their time between my house and their Dad’s it makes for a very complicated life. On a better note it was Stuart’s birthday this week so I built in some time for celebrating as well.

Because of all of this my coach gave me a pretty light week. The week before I did 15 hours (go me!) but this week was planned for just under  9. Inevitably things got muddled up and I ended up mixing up the days I did the workouts and had to skip my open water swim. That wasn’t such a bad thing because hurricane Marie was sitting off the west coast making for some dangerous swim conditions.

Most notable thing this week was my swim endurance is coming back. Usually I get stronger as a swim set goes on. Since the crash, I have been getting slower the longer I swim. This week it finally switched back. I pulled a set of 6 X 100 and did the last one faster than the first one! (see Garmin data here)For my long ride this week I chose to do it inside on my trainer. I only had to ride for 2:30 so I decided just to get it done inside. Since my crash I really don’t care for riding outside. This was so short it just seemed easier logistically to do it on the trainer and I knew I could still get some worthwhile training done.

Leave a Reply

