Week 7 of 17 Ironman Arizona Training – Hulk Mode!

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 1.40.54 PM

If you  use Training Peaks to manage your training plan with the help of a coach you may know what I mean by ‘Hulk Mode” (although I totally made it up). When you get your schedule from your coach and you upload your workouts into the system they turn green if you did the right time/distance per the workout. Every week I try to make my schedule as green as possible. This wee… I NAILED IT!!!!

IMG_3555To top it off, I finished the week with a 5 hour brick and felt great! Things are really falling into place an I couldn’t be happier about it.

Most notable workout of the week was my brick on Sunday. It was 4:30 on the bike followed by :30 run. I have been very uncomfortable on the bike every since I crashed in week one. I am literally counting down the number of times I have to ride my bike outside before the race. I set out for a different route by myself but with the goal of meeting up with Stuart at the beach where I would do my run.

IMG_4120

Stuart and I drinking a well deserved Coke!

My new route took me out to Camarillo/Oxnard area where I had some pretty quiet flat roads to just go back and forth on to fill up the time. The best part of this ride is there is an awesome fruit stand at the far end that sells coke, water, and fruit! It is the perfect rest stop during the ride! (and makes for some silly Instagram videos)

Old school fruit ninja! #triathlontraining #cycling

A post shared by tribeccato (@tribeccato) on

I also picked up a new bento box for my bike that is super big (see picture on the bottom) I was able to easily carry plenty of nutrition.

 

IMG_4066

My biggest bummer at the moment is I feel like I am running really slowly. I didn’t make it to 12 miles during my two hour run on Saturday which was kind of disappointing. I am hoping that, like my swimming, my speed will be back soon…

Otherwise I am getting the last minute items I need for the big day. I got the new bento box like I mentioned before, I ordered a bracket that will fit into my seat post so I can attach one more water bottle to my bike, and I want to replace my helmet that was broken when I crashed. I can’t say enough good things about my Coeur Kit as well. I have been wearing it for every long ride and to put it bluntly, my lady bits and tush are very happy! I can’t wait to get another kit!

It is crazy to believe that we have less than 10 weeks to go!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

