Week 13 of 17 Ironman Arizona Training – Dangerously Confident

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 12.04.55 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-20 at 12.03.19 PMLast week I wrote that I feel like I may have a 6:30 bike in my legs no problem. Now I am starting to think I could be getting really close to breaking the 12 hour mark for the day overall! I think there is a need to have a certain amount of confidence going into the race. As my amazingly handsome and totally awesome husband would say “If you believe you can or you can’t, you are right either way”. I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment but I also want to try for the best day I could possibly have. This is my last big triathlon for a while; I might as well leave it all out there! This week went great again! Only yellow workout was due to a short swim because MARK SPITZ came to my open water swim to speak to our group. It was amazing to meet such a legend and hear him speak. He was very down to earth and had a great sense of humor! IMG_4365I finished the week with a short brick (this was a light week after last week’s 16+ hours). I broke my rule of keeping things simple and drove to a school to start my brick so I could avoid the hills. I had a great 3 hour ride followed by a very fast 20 minute run. IMG_4378That is not a third nipple in my shirt but I have found that my very modest cleavage works well for holding S-Caps and chap-stick… This week brings a “Monster Brick” on Sunday. It will be a metric IM bike (112 km) and run (26.2 km). I am really excited to do this as a race practice and give my nutrition strategy a test. LESS THAN 4 WEEKS. OMG!!!!!!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

