Ultra Running Training Has Started

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 7.44.51 AM I wrote a couple weeks ago about my plan to get me to the Leona Divide 50 mile race where I outlined my training plan. I haven’t been great about sticking to it completely as I ease back into training after Ironman Arizona. I didn’t want to push the the running too fast and end up injured. One of the key elements (in my opinion) to ultra training are the back-to-back long runs. (please know that I have only done one 50K so I am by no means an expert on this topic) I have struggled so far to actually get the training done this way, until last night. On Sunday Stuart and I went to the trails to run more of the Sean O’Brien 50K course. I only had 16 miles to do and Stuart was doing a fat ass 50K. Because I am geographically challenged and can’t find my way out of paper bag at times, we ended up running much more together instead of me turning back early and running back to my car. It was a very hard run. I was hoping to do the 16 miles in 3 hours. It took me closer to 4 hours. Regardless, I got the miles done. Then Monday, I had to run 10 miles. I didn’t do it when my alarm went off at 4:30 AM the next morning but instead I did it when I got home from work. 10 miles in the dark and rain. Woot! I know that these back-back-back long runs will be the best thing for helping me increase my distance running. Now just to keep doing them consistently! Below are some pictures from this weekend’s adventure!

One comment

Leave a Reply

