In the Footsteps of Greatness by Josh Mathe – Book Review

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 1.35.47 PM

I spend a lot of time in my car driving. I have a 40 mile commute that involves Los Angeles driving so that means it can be anywhere from 1-2 hours each way. I have found the best use of my time is to listen to Podcasts and Audible books. I was excited to listen to In the Footsteps of Greatness by Josh Mathe because he is the husband of my coach, and not just some unknown-to-me person. I was so pleased because I truly enjoyed every moment of this book! I couldn’t wait to get back in the car so I could hear the next chapter!

Without giving much away I will say it is a heart warming tale of someone overcoming their personal and physical struggles to achieve a very challenging goal, fast packing/running the John Muir Trail. It is a quick listen (around 4 hours) which would be perfect for a week of commuting or a road trip.

I immensely liked this book for a few reasons. First, I understood his way of thinking. I really agreed with his philosophy on endurance training and it was great to hear someone articulate how I feel about my sport. I don’t hike but his views apply well to endurance sports in general. Mathe includes the quote “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’tyoure right.” ― Henry Ford. This gets to the heart of his story and how I feel about life in general. Second, it felt like a very honest exploration into his life and experience. I felt honored to get to hear about it! It wasn’t preachy at all and I felt extremely inspired that I could do this one day if I wanted to. And lastly, it was a great listen. Mathe did an excellent job narrating his own book. It isn’t always the case with talking books. He did a wonderful job bring his story to life. I will need to go get a real copy of the book because I am interested in a lot of the material that was mentioned in the appendix!

If you are looking for a quick listen (or read) I would highly recommend this book. You won’t be disappointed!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

