Sticks and Stones

I had an unpleasant experience on the internet yesterday.  I had posted the following comment in a private group I belong to on Facebook. It is a triathlon based group that has been nothing but warm and friendly  over my past year of participation.Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 1.51.27 PM

I will admit, I  wanted to hear that I am not the only one who doesn’t like circle swimming with people who aren’t doing the same workout I am. But, I did expect to hear form some people that thought what I did wasn’t the bets way to handle it.

For a day the comments were very polite and generally on my side or at least understanding of what I did. On the second day I got a comment that really got under my skin and hurt. Essentially they said that my actions were rude and lame and I should have allowed them to swim with us. Another person then brought up that for newer swimmers the pool could be a very intimidating place and not being allowed to circle swim into the lane could have been off-putting. I can tell you I wasn’t rude when I told the person I would rather not circle swim but I will concede that it was kind of lame. I tired to echo that sentiment but was then told that what I did was a “D!*K move”.  Also, how would I have felt if it was my only time to swim and I wasn’t let in to circle swim. I stopped replying because I didn’t think it would serve any purpose.

A few words in my defense here. I ALWAYS share my lane happily with anyone who asks. I even intentionally swim on one side just to make my lane more inviting and open to others. If I show up to the pool and the lanes are all full with two people I wait until I can get in a lane that doesn’t require anyone to circle swim. I would rather cut my workout short, but get in as much of my quality structured workout as possible. And I don’t want to ask others to have to accommodate me circle swimming with them.

The part that really hurt was that the comments made me feel like they thought I was not an encouraging fellow triathlete. This really upset me; all the way to tears last night. I feel like this is so far from the truth about me and how I interact with others in endurance sports. I was surprised how much this hurt. I guess if I didn’t want somebody to call me out, I shouldn’t have posted it in the first place.

I guess if you want to be open in social media, you have to expect this to happen from time to time. I am not looking for validation that I was right or wrong on this. I just wanted to share this because it felt important to illustrate how much social media interactions can affect you.

11 comments

  1. Such is the internet….people will always say things they never would in person. Try not to let it get to you (easier said than done). Circle swimming IS the worst! If it helps, I seriously wanted to trip a new mom with a jogging stroller on an indoor track last week. I keep trying to think of a way to blog about it and not sound horrible, haven’t gotten there yet 🙂

  2. I’ll say it right here for GOD and the world….I don’t let ANYONE in my lane when I’m doing a TT swim. NO ONE…not even someone doing the same test. I hog that whole entire lane, for what…10-15 minutes!!???? 4-5 times a year or so…Yeah, it’s terrible and selfish. Anyone who REALLY does one, will understand. Anyone else can jump up my ass. I don’t care! This really made me mad! I can only imagine how it made you feel…

  3. The fact that you spoke your heart out, is undeniably a right stand..
    The world is full of crazy sh*t people..dont give a dam to them..
    I understand, that by now you would have well overcome this, to understand, that being sporty and being stupid are entirely different thing..
    People who make other feel stupid and no where near to their sport
    People like you who speak their heart, are far far far more sportive than winners who can never find different ways to enjoy a sport, as they spend their entire life sh*ting the same repetition again and again to master their sport..

    I love you..mwaah!

  4. I can empathize with you. The comments would have really upset me. It’s tough because you want validation, etc., but at the same time, you don’t want to hear the mean things people say. That’s kind of why I’ve given up on posting stuff like that. And for the record…i don’t know anybody who likes circle swimming. Lol. It sucks. I haven’t been swimming in a while, but if i can avoid circle swimming, i will. Especially with a TT swim.

  5. I feel your sadness over the situation. I too would be really hurt by some of those comments. I’ve given up on making posts like that on social media as it only brings me heartache.

    I do not get into lane if it forces people to circle swim (especially in a 25 yard pool) and am not a fan when others force me to circle swim. There is nothing more frustrating than trying to complete a TT in a pool with circle swimmers who are not the same pace as you.

  6. The internet, such a fickle place! Sometimes I’ll catch myself before saying something on the internet knowing it’s probably going to offend SOMEONE. But at the end of the day, you gotta be you. Shake it off. Be you. Continue to train like the rock star that you are.

Leave a Reply

