What-A-Workout – Hold the Pace

Taking a note from fellow Coeur Sports Ambassador and Ironman Boulder participant, Kecia, I thought I would start highlighting some of the workouts I really enjoy. I am being coached by Jen Mathe so I can’t take credit for creating the workouts; only for doing them! Check Jen out if you are in the market for the coach. She is pretty awesome in my opinion!

Sunday I did a swim called Hold the Pace. Essentially you do 20 X 100 all at the same pace, but after every 4 you get a little more rest. You should be swimming them around your threshold pace in the pool and the increase in rest as the set goes on should allow you to swim all 20 in the same time. I was feeling pretty good after a rest day on Saturday so I ended up swimming a little faster than I should have but I held the pace so I think I did well!

After the first one which was too fast (1:29), I backed off a little and went for 1:32 per 100. By sets of 4 I increased my rest by :05 per 100. So I did the 5 sets of 4 on 1:45, 1:50, 1:55, 2:00, and 2:05. But always swimming the 100 in 1:32 or just a little faster.

NAILED IT!!!

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 9.06.43 AM(The 1:09 was a watch issue but I swam the pace of 1:32)

4 comments

  1. This reminds me, I was going to search for some new swim workouts! Not sure I have the patience/mentality for this one today, but, something to try in the future.

  2. i have done somewhat the same before it pays off for trying to not go out too fast or start off to slow. to keep the same speed and also helps negative split in races too!

Leave a Reply

