Week 3 of 18 Ironman Boulder Training – Bad Girl

This week was one of those weeks that I just needed to do things on my schedule. I try very hard to complete my training as designed and I think I am actually pretty good about it. This week I was not. I couldn’t get my butt out of bed and shuffled my training around a little to fit my life. But since it was a recovery week, it felt like a good week to not make my training my second job. I managed to get in all my training (except for one TRX workout), just not on the right days!

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 10.09.52 AMI have also changed up my SportTracks to display my weeks starting on Tuesday since that is how I am actually training. That way I get my long ride in on Sunday and long run on Monday. This works better for my personal commitments.

My workout focus of the week is a pool set that is great for building speed. A friend of mine introduced me to EBEH and it is a great tool for spicing up a set of 100s or 200s. E for easy, B for build, E for easy, and H for hard. I swam 10 X 100 EBEH (each letter per 25). It makes for good practice at swimming at different paces and allows for active recovery during the easy laps. It looks like this if you are using a Garmin device to track your swim.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 10.23.39 AM

Saturday I had the privilege of support Stuart again at another Ultra Marathon. This time it was the Leona Divide 50 miler. I was originally signed up to do this race but I realized in January that I really am not interested in running this far so I dropped it.  Stuart did a great job and managed to finish despite not feeling that great and walking the last 24 miles! I will post a link once to his race report once he writes it. I have so much fun watching these events. The people and places are amazing! Below are a few pictures from the event.

Getting ready for a long day!

Getting ready for a long day!

Just over half way done!

Just over half way done!

Stuart gets a break at and aid station and I take a selfie! #shocker

Stuart gets a break at and aid station and I take a selfie! #shocker

Finished!

Finished!

Training wise this next week is shaping up to be a big one as I dig in for a couple big weeks building volume. I am hoping to get back to training in the mornings since that makes for a much easier day overall. We also finally got the official bike course for the race so I will be spending time trying to locate a good place to ride that will simulate the elevation during the race. Hopefully I can find a good loop to use that will help me see improvement as my training goes on. I took this approach with Ironman Arizona (rode the same roads for 3 months), and it worked very well.

I am also going to try and stay out of the online chatter about the race. I am finding that there is a lot of noise and worry over things that don’t warrant it. I am also finding that many people ask a question but already know the answer they want to hear. There are a few too many self-proclaimed experts on Ironman out there (I sure hope I don’t pretend to be one of them). I know who I trust and I will listen to those people if I have a questions. Too many opinions doesn’t get you anywhere!

2 comments

  1. So many people underestimate the recovery week, so nice job taking it easy and setting yourself up for a much more successful build 😉 Congrats to Stuart on his HUGE accomplishments Saturday!!

    I too have been staying away from the online chatter as it relates to Boulder. So many people have opinions and they all think they are the expert. The way I look at it is…it is Ironman. It is suppose to be challenging. We signed up for this, so sit back, focus, do the work and enjoy the ride. We don’t have control over the race course, the weather, the altitude, etc. So it is time for me to focus on the things I can control. I must say that I’m excited to see that this bike course has less climbing than Wisconsin by about 1000 feet (which I’ve done twice) 😉

Leave a Reply

