Week 5 and 6 of 18 Ironman Boulder Training – I am not 21 anymore

Life has been a little extra busy and crazy so I am combining two weeks of training updates into one.

Week 5

Week 5

Week 5 was going well all week until Sunday. The only workouts I missed were my strength/TRX workouts (yes, I know I said I would get better about those). Sunday morning we had signed up for a super cool race, The Wings for Life World Run. The race started at 4:00 AM and essentially had a moving finish line. That is, it chased you down. My goal was to make it for 20K before getting caught. Even though this race was crazy early and ended up laying me up in bed for the rest of the day it was the most fun I have had racing in awhile! The race only happens in two places in the US but it happens all over the world at the same time (hence the 4 AM start). You can see my results below. I also got 8th in my AG (but not sure out of how many)Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 4.15.37 PM

Getting caught by the finish line!

Getting caught by the finish line!

Week 6 went a little bit better but Saturday I decided to celebrate (nothing in particular) a little too hard an felt terrible all day Sunday. Word to the wise, cranberry Red Bull and vodka are a bad bad bad combination. Still, I managed to get through a 30 min swim, 2:30 bike, and 30 min run (during which I thought I might die).

Screen Shot 2015-05-12 at 4.16.51 PMOnce again I still didn’t do my TRX/strength work. I will just stop making excuses for this. But otherwise I kept true to my schedule pretty well. Highlight of the week was riding with Stuart. He is back on his bike so we get to ride together a little now! Unfortunately (or fortunately form my perspective) he tends to ride in front of me most of the time! I need to get him in the pool. That is the only place I have an advantage!IMG_6377

2 comments

  1. Nice work Chica!! There is NOTHING worse than pushing through a workout while being hungover…stomach cramps are a close 2nd, but the hangover is #1.

Leave a Reply

