Post Ironman Blues

I had a great plan to keep me focused after Ironman but it is kind of falling apart. The plan was to try to Boston Qualify at a local marathon in November. That would have provided some pretty rigorous but not super time intensive training for the next three months. Well, I am not so sure I will be doing that. I stubbed my toe before Ironman Boulder and it doesn’t want to cooperate just yet. It doesn’t hurt that bad but the day after I ride or run it is pretty swollen. I saw a podiatrist and there isn’t really anything to be done. Just give it a rest and see how it feels. (Funniest finding is that I am actually missing a joint/bone in my little toe!) Every week that ticks by my chance to train for a fast marathon slips away. Boston isn’t that important to me. It was a good goal to keep me focused. Now I am losing focus a little. not to mention I am getting a little bummed.

Top is before, bottom is now.

Top is before, bottom is now.

So I have found something else to do for the month of September to keep my mind off the light volume of training- Whole 30. Essentially I will be cutting out dairy, gluten, added sugar, grains, and soy for 30 days. I don’t think I have any issues or allergies to food but I do have some pretty strong sugar cravings. I am hoping that this strict diet can help reduce my cravings for sugar and carbs. We will see how it goes. I am up for the challenge and I have the time for it as well.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

