And then this happened…

IMG_7912Last Saturday turned out to be a very eventful day. Stuart was riding a local century so I was home with the kids. I planned some cookie making and a trip to the park to keep us all busy for the day. I didn’t feel like unlocking my bike to ride to the park so I took one of the kids scooters. I had never ridden a scooter for more than a couple of meters before this but it was just a means to get to the park instead of walking. While at the park I decided to do one loop around on the scooter. The top of the loop is at the top of a small hill. As I was coming back down I was gathering a lot of speed and I wasn’t sure the best way to stop so I decided to roll into the grass to slow down. Bad idea! The front wheel stopped immediately and I was thrown over right into the ground on my right shoulder. I heard a crack. I thought it was my helmet. In hindsight, I know it wasn’t.

The break didn’t require surgery so I just wave to wait for it to heal. It could take 3-4 weeks before the bones stop shifting. It is turning out to be a much rougher recovery than I expected. My marathon in November is totally out. The next big race I am signed up for is Oceanside 70.3 in early April. I should have enough time to train for that. Worst thing is Stuart will be postponing his Everesting ride. I will not be able to SAG him October 25.

I have to admit, I am not handling this setback very well. I am going stir crazy being stuck in the house so much and being so helpless. I don’t feel like me right now. I am really hoping that after one more week I will feel a bit better and be a bit more independent.

I am trying to keep up my Whole 30 clean eating as best as possible. I would hate to gain the weight back that I lost and also it gives me something to focus on. I admit I haven’t been perfect (I have had a cookie or two over the week) but I have done pretty good otherwise.

I will keep you posted on my progress and recovery but right now I am just trying to end my pity party 🙂

3 comments

  1. I think you’re absolutely allowed a pity party. Silver lining though is that it’s heading into the off season anyways, at least it didn’t happen in June.

    Don’t get too down, enjoy some rest time and heal up!

Leave a Reply

