The Whole 30 Effect

It has been about 4 weeks since I ended my Whole 30 challenge. I have managed to continue to eat fairly true to the guidelines of the program. I do allow myself to stray from the program on the weekends but for the most part I am sticking with it. The graph below will show you why.

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 10.29.17 AMI never thought I could easily maintain a weight under 130 lbs! What is even more amazing is I am hardly exercising right now. I broke my collarbone 3 weeks ago and have only managed a couple of walks on the treadmill since my injury. There are a few effects from doing Whole 30 that I think are helping me maintain this style of eating.

  • I read EVERY label on my food. I am very conscious of what I am eating.
  • I found many good Whole 30 meals that I love (eggs with avocado for breakfast, tuna salad and veggies for lunch, and meat and roasted potatoes for dinner).
  • Skinny feels better than cereal tastes!
  • Coffee with full fat coconut cream is awesome! I don’t miss the sweetness.
  • I found some Whole 30 treats that keep me from feeling deprived (milkshake made from coconut milk, cream and frozen bananas, apples or bananas with almond butter, dried apricots, good prosciutto, and coconut date bars).
  • Massive support at home. This way of eating is working for Stuart as well so he understands when I am picky about what we eat.
  • I have a highly decreased interest in drinking beer.

There are a few things I miss that are not easily substituted, but I allow myself these items in small quantities on the weekend.

  • Cheese
  • Yogurt and granola
  • Chips
  • Ice cream
  • Pizza

Once this collarbone is healed I will begin training for Oceanside 70.3 in April. That will increase my need for food while training so it will be interesting to see what works best for me at that time. But for now, if I can keep this style up, I think I can keep my weight down which should be really helpful while racing.

3 comments

  1. I’ve gone back and forth about this for years, but watching you and Stuart and pushed me over the edge………I miss how good I felt when I was eating ultra clean.

Leave a Reply

