2015 Recap and 2016 Goals

Looking back 2015 was a pretty quiet year race-wise. I had started the year off planing to do epic crazy trail runs with Stuart. Unfortunately it became apparent, very quickly that, my heart was not into trail running after 15 miles. So I did an about-face and found a full Ironman to focus on, Iroman Boulder. I did manage a 50 K that I was really proud of but I needed triathlon and Boulder was the perfect race! I didn’t have the run I was hoping for but I had a great race and my quest for Kona continues!

I also worked on my diet this year. I did a Whole 30 challenge and learned a lot about how to eat healthy and still train. I managed to lose that 5 pounds you never think you will lose!

My 2015 ended a bit early when I broke my collarbone in October. I only missed one race, the Santa Clarita Marathon as a result. It was a much longer recovery than I expected and I am still not 100 % at 13 weeks post injury.

Here were my training totals for 2015:

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 12.27.40 PM.png

So what is the plan for 2016? I am the kind of person that like to attach numbers to my goals. I need to know what I am working towards. I want to get to Kona some day. I actually think I can do it. But you HAVE to set time goals if you want to qualify. I just don’t it see any other way!

So here we go…

  • April, Ironman 70.3 Oceanside: I just want a solid race. I have no goals for a PR since I am still recovering. 40 min swim, 3:15 bike, and sub 2 hour run would be awesome!
  • July, Ironman 70.3 Vineman: I have done this race 3 times before. If my training is going well I would LOVE to do sub 5:30. My PR here is 5:32. 35 min swim, sub 3 hour bike, 1:50 run. Sub 5:30 would really be awesome!
  • October, Ironman 70.3 Tempe: This will be a training race since it is 4-5 weeks from Ironman Arizona. I have no time goals as of now for this race. When I get closer I will set some.
  • November, Ironman Arizona: My A-Race! My PR here was 11:48 in 2014. I am hoping to make some significant improvement on the bike. My goals are sub 1:10 swim, sub 6 hour bike, and sub 4 hour run. That gives me a finish time around 11:15, and based on last years results a 14th place finish. Not a spot to Kona but getting closer.

Once again I will be working with my Coach, Jen Mathe. She has done an amazing job and I can’t wait to see where she gets me this year! I am even racing against her twice this year! If you need a coach (I would never do this without one), check out Jen! She knows her stuff and is very passionate about sport!

Diet wise I plan on using the guiding principles I learned from Whole 30 to keep my weight down. I plan of eating a mostly added-sugar and grain free diet. It really works for me and I think it is sustainable.

Thanks, as always,  for following along. Your comments and “likes” are really encouraging! The accountability that come along with doing a blog and being vocal about my goals helps keep me on track!

 

 

6 comments

Leave a Reply

