The Benefits of Being Coached (and general update)

The biggest benefit to being coached is I don’t have to plan my workouts. The secondary benefit of this is that I don’t spend anytime worry about the ramp up to a race. They just happen! I know my coach Jen will set me up for race day perfectly! We have been working together for almost 3 years now and I never have to worry about my plan! She has it covered.

The next race I have coming up is Vineman 70.3 on July 10. Here are my race day goals:

  • Swim: 33-35 minutes (I think I can mange this if I stay string in the middle)
  • Bike: 3:00 bike (I need to push myself on the bike and get a little uncomfortable)
  • Run: sub 1:50 (this will be a challenge because this is close to my recently run BQ pace)

Total: 5:45

My PR for this distance is at Vineman from way back in 2011, I did 5:32. I haven’t been able to recapture that time since.

So what else have I been up to? Let me use some pictures to get you up to date!

IMG_1027

Multi-tasking; riding my bike to the pool and then back home. I made an effort to get outside on my bike more. That is a big step for me!

IMG_1040

R&R. Quick family trip to Vegas for some lazy river action and some refreshing beer!

IMG_1067

Training never stops! In addition to bringing my bike and findling a local pool I ran the strip at 5:45 AM. Only saw one fight!

IMG_1110

Swimming as usual! New swim suit from Coeur and the awesome R1 goggles from Roka make swimming fun! Sale at Roka this weekend, code is SUMMER25. 25% OFF!

IMG_1112

All the swimming mean all the Triswim! Use TRWISWIM4TH for 30% at https://www.sbrsportsinc.com/ And yes, I have a trampstamp.

IMG_1137

Goofing around with the kids. New Garmin Virb camera provided us tons of fun in the pool!

SCM Ambassador_logo(1)

And in case you missed it I am an ambassador for the Santa Clarita Marathon. Use SCM2016REBECCAN FOR 20% off your entry!

 

Shout out to my awesome sponsors for their continued support, Coeur Sports and SBR sports take amazing care of me for every single workout! I am lucky to have their support!

Leave a Reply

