Week 10 of 16 Ironman Arizona Training – Aquathalon National Championship

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 7.53.37 AM.png

After the rough week before this week we backed off the volume just a little; but mostly so I could do small trip to visit Jen, and a little race on Saturday. But even with that I still manage over 13 hours!

Highlight if the week was the race for sure! The held the Aquathalon National Championships up in Santa Cruz. I grabbed a flight to Sacramento to meet up with Jen, my coach, and we drove out to Santa Cruz. After a very wild night in our hotel thanks to Megan, some poor girl celebrating her birthday and apparently ending up in jail, we were up nice and early to get to the race. The cool thing about the race was if you placed in the top 18 in your age group you earn a spot to go to Penticton Canada next year for the world championships! Swim-Run is perfect for me!

The swim was super cold and by the time I got out my hand were pretty much useless. I managed to stub my toe pretty bad running in the sand but luckily my feet were numb too! I swam a very good line and ended up with a great swim for me.

Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 8.05.59 AM.png

My T1 was a good minute longer than everybody else in my AG because I couldn’t tie my shoes or get my wetsuit off! The run was awesome. We ran along the cliff and had an amazing view the whole time. I was clicking off sub 8 minute miles and felt excellent. Very good group of ladies out there! I don’t get passed on the run that often but a few ladies passed me like I was standing still. Even though we all knew we would get our slots to worlds everyone was giving it their all. What a great way to race! The Garmin data can be found here.

I placed 4th in my AG and 25th overall female. I did everything I could and I was really happy with my race. Luckily my slow T2 didn’t keep me from the podium but for shorter races like this I need to get faster. Here are some pictures from the race!

After the race I flew back the next day and did a 4 hour ride followed by a 1 hour run. I have been having a bit of self doubt lately so I was so pleased to bust out at hour run at goal marathon pace and all in zone 1/2 heart rate! It is runs like that that keep me coming back for more. My personal goal for Arizona just keeps getting faster and faster. Final 6 weeks until Arizona. The end is in sight!

5 comments

  1. Well done on a great race and a great day’s training the very next day! Fabulous! Have you tried elastic laces in your trainers? Much quicker than tying laces with cold fingers πŸ˜€

  2. Excellent work lady! What was the distance of each of the swim and run? I struggled to find this in the Garmin data πŸ˜‰

    Only 6 more weeks?! It is getting close now! I can’t wait to virtually cheer you on (or stalk you) on race day!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

