Pivoting in my boot

Ok, I finally saw the doctor today. Here is my current status.

Ultrasound was used to confirm there is a tear in my gastrocnemius muscle so  I am wearing the boot and will do physical therapy to fix the muscle. For now I may only cross train WITHOUT USING MY CALF. That pretty much leaves me with swimming with a pull buoy or extreme crocheting. I am up for the challenge!

I got some cheer-leading from Sonja Wieck that my shift in goals is called “The art of the pivot”

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 3.40.03 PM.png

Ironman Wisconsin is off the table (filed my insurance to hopefully get my money back) and now IM Santa Rosa 70.3 is off as well. 2017 is the year of DNS.

So what am I pivoting to you may ask… I am hoping to be up and running reasonably well by the end of the summer so I can qualify in the fall/winter for Boston in 2019. Then Stuart and I will be trying to do Boston to Big Sur in 2019!!! How cool is that!?!

I will also be going for the full IM Santa Rosa in 2018 in hopes of gaining a slot to Kona.

This is just a hiccup. I will come back!

 

One comment

  1. Extreme crocheting sounds like something I need to learn how to do! In all seriousness, I’m sad for you. You will be back, and you’ll be back super strong, focused, and ready to conquer your goals! Lots of hugs + speedy healing vibes your way!!

Leave a Reply

