10% Loss

I guess it could have been worse. But I lost 10 %… of my FTP! I did an FTP test this week to set a baseline for training and when the results came back my FTP dropped 18 watts from 187 to 169.

Honestly, I have done very little structured bike training since March, so I guess 10% loss over 5-6 months is not too bad. I don’t think I could have ridden it harder. My HR Maxed over 190 so that means I rode pretty hard!

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 8.30.12 PM.png

I have a goal of getting my FTP up to 200 and hopefully I can do that by next summer. I think that FTP would get me well on my way to the 5:30 Ironman bike split I need if I ever have a chance at qualifying for Kona.

My return to run is going well! I am slowing making my way through an 8 step return program. I am not rushing it at all! Right now I am on step 4, .1 walk/.4 run for 2 miles. Next week I plan to step up to 2 full miles and outside. So exciting!

 

2 comments

  1. I bet you find that your FTP bounces back quicker than you thought! That KQ will be yours! Your determination, perseverance, and tenacity will see to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

