Race Week – Work That!

DCIM114GOPRO

Race week is here!!! I am happy to report I am running pain free (except for the normal running aches and pain). No calf pain. No knee pain. No neck pain. NADA! I have done my training. I have run more leading up to this race than any other races in the last 4 years I think!

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.51.05 AM

I know I am capable of the goal of a 3:40 marathon. Unfortunately, I am not totally sure I have the speed in my legs right now. I am not trying to make an excuse for a possible goal failure on Sunday. I am just being honest that this is going to be really hard.

So  this week I am doing everything I know will help me on race day.

  • Stating my goal and intentions very publicly. I find that when I say it out loud, it makes it much harder to hide from your goal. So my goals are:
    • “A” Goal – sub 3:40 marathon – pretty much a guaranteed qualification for Boston
    • “B” Goal – 3:40-3:41:59 marathon – still a really good chance at getting into Boston, but not as guaranteed.
    • “C” Goal – 3:42-3:45 marathon – qualifying time but might not make the cut off.
    • “D” Goal – finishing the marathon
  • Using positive self talk and reminding myself of my past success. I have done this before. I can do it again. Click here to see my results last time I ran this race.
  • Eating well and making sure I get good sleep! Ice cream can wait for Sunday night!
  • Reviewing all the race details to make sure I know all the important information.
  • Making a killer play list! The song below is giving some extra motivation. The lyric, “Work what you got!” It really speaking to me right now! That is all I can do!

 

and if all else fails…

4 comments

Leave a comment