Breath of Life Triathlon 2013 Race Report

DSC_0422

I had so much fun at the Monte Rio Olympic Triathlon at the beginning of June that I quickly signed up for another one that was close by in Ventura (30 miles away).  My friend Leo also wanted to do the race so that was as good enough reason as any.  This was where I did my first sprint tri in 2012 so I was very comfortable with all aspects of this race.  Quadrathon and I came up the day before for packet pickup and I slipped (pulled) on my wetsuit for a quick test swim.  I need to remember to do this for all races because it really looses up the suit for the next day.

So we drove up race morning and got to transition about 6:30 (a little later than many other people).  When I found my racks they were pretty full.  I did my best to find a spot but some of the other girls were not racked very well.  I ended up in an argument with a couple girls because they didn’t want me racking my bike because there was no way for me to fit in and not have my handle bars facing the same way as one of their bikes.  They had taken up a lot of space (3 bikes in the space for 5, ALL their transition stuff laid out NEXT to their bikes.  I tried to argue that they had taken up too much space and one of them should switch their bikes but they wouldn’t back down.  I was shocked.  I had never experienced such rudeness at a race.  I ALWAYS make space and have switched my bike frequently to accommodate another racer.  Whatever… I found a new spot and got set up, got on my wetsuit and looked for my Sherpa (Quadrathon).  But I have to admit the whole thing put me in a bad place.  I don’t like confrontation like that. (it really was an accident that I knocked one of their helmets off as I moved my bikes but I was smiling on the inside a little).

Stuart and I made our way down to the water so I could get wet and warmed up a little.  The race ended up starting about 20 minutes late because they were waiting for the ambulance. The swim is two loops and you have to get out in the middle and run over the timing mat.  I stayed far to the left on the course for much of the swim so I could avoid the swimmers.  I would much rather swim a little long than get caught up with others. Swim went well except for a little seaweed.  I was out and on my way to the bike.

The bike is pancake flat and for the Olympic you end up doing three loops.  Because of the looping and a simultaneous sprint I was having to pass a lot of people.  Good for my confidence but I spent a lot of energy passing people.  I was able to stay aero for most of the ride and I was very aware of my heart rate and my cadence.  The ride was going very well.

I cruised back into T2 to start the run and I was very worried that I had burned too many matches on the bike and was going to blow up on the run.  I started running and had no idea what my pace was.  My goal had been to run and 8:45 pace since I had run a 9:00 pace at Monte Rio.  When the first mile clicked off at 8:43 I was very pleased.  After another 1/2 mile I settled into the run and felt great.  I even mustered up a nice kick at the end (and was complemented on it by another racer) and finished very strong.

After the race we grabbed some food then grabbed our stuff and got out of dodge.  Stuart had a 4 hour ride to do so he was riding home so we said good bye to him and we were out of there.  Overall I was very happy with the race.  I was in control and pushed myself and that is all I can ask for right now.

My times:

For the results by division click here  (female, 35-39)

Swim 28:29 (1st in my AG) (click here for Garmin data) (discrepancy between the race time and my Garmin is because there was a long run up the beach before you crossed the mat into T1

T1 2:23

Bike 1:20:04 (click here for Garmin data)

T2 1:54

Run 52:30 (click here for Garmin data)

Total 2:45:22 (6/15 for my AG)

HUGE thanks to Stuart for all the great pictures. I had hundreds to choose from! <3U!

6 comments

  1. You’re tough! It sounds like you had a great race! So happy your feeling yourself again. OK now that I am home from Utah, we must run together… it is becoming comical that we have not seen each other and we are one block away. Love you! xoxo

  2. Great race!! You are coming back with a cause lady!! 🙂

    and whats up with the chickas who can’t rack? I had that issue in Panama City in May and it was a 70.3!! We racked the night before so I just gently repositioned a bunch of folks…Honestly, you’d think everyone would know HOW the bikes go after the 1st go round at this!!….no need for the rudeness though!

    AND was it REALLY 55F??? HOLY CRAP….I would drain my savings account for that right now….I really need to find a better place to do this stuff….My old fat ass can’t take these hot/humid over 100F days!

    So so so happy to see the brightness on your face….and hear it in your writing!! Enjoy this time!

Leave a comment