2016 Vineman 70.3 Race Report

IMG_0035

This is the 4th time I have done Vineman 70.3. Big difference this year was my kids came with me. I don’t usually take them to races because I don’t want to worry about them being bored during the race.  But the Russian River valley makes for such a great place to vacation they came this time.

If you want the details and number for the race here you go:

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 7.36.06 AMScreen Shot 2016-07-15 at 7.36.26 AM

Race morning went well. They now require you to rack your bike the day before and have assigned rack spots so that takes a ton of the stress of race morning away for me. I had a very late wave so I didn’t show up at transition until the Pros were starting. Stuart brought my kids over a bit later  and after a few pictures it was time to start. Thanks Coeur for the awesome shirts for the boys!

IMG_0045

Swim went great! I lined up in front and only had a little bit of congestion to start. It was SUPER shallow at the turn but I swam it all. The swim back was better than it usually is.  Roka sleeveless wet-suit and R1 goggles were perfect!

IMG_0044

LOTS of bikes were gone when I got out but that is what happens when you are the third from the last wave! Enjoy this totally awkward picture of me in transition! I was happy I didn’t fall getting my wetsuit off this time! I put on the new Coeur Aero top to help keep the sun off my shoulders. It was great!!!

Bike start

Off I went. As you can see in the numbers above, cycling is where I need to improve the most. I was passed by 30 women on the bike. I have to figure this out! I will never get to Kona if I don’t get significantly better on the bike. I felt like I did my best all day. My power looked good and I felt great. I even took three bottles of water on the fly without stopping! This was huge for me! The ride was a bit windy but other than that I can’t complain. The aero top by Coeur was awesome!

Bike FinishVineman run StartOff the bike in Windsor and onto the run! I had set a pretty tough goal for me to run a 1:50 half. We are having a competition at work and you have to set goals and try to achieve them. I knew it would be tough but I really wanted to try! Run started out well but I just couldn’t quite hold the pace I needed. It is a rolling course that is fairly exposed and hot. I wasn’t hungry but I still managed to eat a banana and a Mocha Cliff shot (so gross at that point) and I kept on my hydration with water, Coke, and RedBull. Even though I missed the 1:50 mark I was happy with my run. I was doing my bets to catch my coach Jen. But she managed to hold me off. I was able to pick up a few more ladies in the last mile and they were all so nice in the finish area. My AG as a whole was super awesome! I may not have made 1:50 but I picked up half of the ladies who passed me on the bike and ran the second half faster than the first. I never gave up!

Vineman Run FinishIMG_0037Overall it was a good day. I am really dissapointed with my bike and I have to figure it out if I really have hopes of qualifying for Kona. We already have some plan to try and make some improvements. I think a huge part of my problem is confidence on the bike and handling skills. Only cure for that is more time outside riding! Can you say Cross bike???

I couldn’t have shown up to this race ready if it wasn’t for a bunch of people.

  • Coach Jen and I have been working together for 3 years now and I love racing with her! When I finally get this bike thing worked out she is in serious trouble!
  • My sponsors but especially Coeur Sports and SBR Sports. You both are so generous and supportive! I am so lucky to have you on my side keeping me clean and clothed!
  • My Couer team and triathlon friends. There were so many people out there on course that it felt like I was racing with my family!
  • Stuart, you are more to me than I can put into words! Thanks for everything!

Up next:

  • Dwight Crum Pier-to Pier swim in August
  • Carpinteria Tri in September (maybe)
  • Death Valley Ride in October
  • Ironman Arizona in November

9 comments

  1. It’s so enjoyable to follow your training and your races! Solid race at Vineman Becca! One major thing you should be REALLY proud of is your run. Not many can run so strong off of the bike! Your Kona dream will come true, I don’t have any doubts about it!

  2. I would give anything to be able to swim that fast! Awesome. I too struggle to get enough power on the bike so I understand your frustration there but even so you are much quicker than me and your run was so close to your target! Excellent race and lovely to have your boys there in support. Well done

  3. I LOVED tracking you on race day for this event! Congratulations on a great race and I can’t wait to follow you on IMAZ race day as well!! You, my friend, are a ROCKSTAR!!

      1. I held back in the bike during my first 70.3 and then had an okay run. So this year I went for it the bike and collapsed in the run! It’s such a tricky science. Happy IM AZ training!

Leave a comment